We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stay here every year and the owners always make us feel welcome. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the personalized service is awesome. This motel suits our family perfectly as the room comfortably accommodates

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give a review. It is always lovely to see familiar faces coming back, that makes my day!. You were really lucky with the weather too, it was a great weekend.
Your feed back is very important to us so thank you very much.
Take care, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    98
    24
    3
    10
See reviews for
88
220
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in Rotorua for three nights. Our room was at ground level and the problem with the ground level rooms is, that cars park right in front of the glass doors. So each time a car approaches your room is flooded with light. The curtains keep most of that light out, but if you have a light sleep, this can wake you up. If you have a room at top level, this won't be a problem. The room itself was nice and clean and had a spa like every room there. However, we did not use it, as we didn't want to flood our room. According to signs in the room this is likely to happen ;-) All other facilities in the room were well equipted and in good condition. The owner is a very helpful Lady and if you have any question, she is happy to assist you. She even has a lot of discount vouchers for most of the top attractions of the area :-)
The sulfuric smell (H2S) some people complain about, is present throughout the city and you get used to it really fast.
If we would ever go to Rotorua again, we would book this appartment again!

Room Tip: Better not take a room at ground level, cars park right in front of the doors and the headlights can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helge_klemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry that you are light sleepers and the car lights bothered you. Our curtains are total blackout and we have hush glass windows. Of course the option of going up stairs is available. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in N.Z. and we get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have tried a couple of places here but havent come across one like this, best customer service awosome spa , well orgnised rooms lots of privacy and no sound from next door spa pools.the best experience we have come across when it comes to massage in rotorua.the therapist took really good care of my 6 months pregnant wife durning masage.good value for money.love to bring my upcoming baby and wife here again.thanks for the welcome basket.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raza999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We know we have one of the best massage therapists in Rotorua, just wish more of our guests would try out the treatments. We, all at Emerald Spa are looking forward to meeting your newest family member, in due course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our hosts turned on beautiful weather for our weekend in their lovely city. Our requests were quickly attended to, providing us with a lovely sunny unit and sorting the heat pump which we were not familiar with. The Beds were comfy and the unit quiet, Thanks Hosts we will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemarjsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are looking forward to seeing you all back in Rotorua again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I am hotelier and i always stay in hotel for quility reasons but Emerald spa resort just change my point of view. Absolutely fantastic customer service and cleaness of the room and modern design of room. Liked mini-bar basket. I will definately visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank erick474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you Erick for your comments we love to receive such positive feeddback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the emerald spa motel for our honeymoon and were so happy to be told we had our rooms upgraded because our old room was being repaired. From the outside this motel looks very modern and nice and the inside doesn't disappoint either. The woman at the front desk is very lovely and made us feel very welcome. Our room was well clean and had everything we could possibly need during our stay and more there was also a basket with small chocolates, chips and cookies which was a nice touch. The spa was great too and we got free wifi and sky tv with heaps of channels. The location isn't the best as it is out of town but a $10 taxi will get you back into town or the local bus which stops almost right outside the motel.
I would definitely recommend that people stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0die2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really enjoyed reading your comments and trust others will also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Emerald staff could not have been better. Offering to assist us in our stay (not sure of duration when arriving) and accommodated our family needs quite well. Very helpful in booking activities and finding deals. Location was great for hitting area attractions, eacy to hit the road and see all the region has to offer.

pool was not in service, and noted as a 'spa' is a bit of a stretch.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burken20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Emerald Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed lots of what Rotorua has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing