We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Le Cafe de Paris

Le Cafe de Paris
Ranked #20 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Being greeted with a friendly "Bonjour!" As you enter the Cafe de Paris is one of its unique charms. The French owners, Alain (from Lyon) and Valerie (from Pau) settled in Rotorua 12 years ago.They provide a wide variety of French cuisine and an all day breakfast with a very competitive price of $9.90 . You can taste their unique almond croissant or beef bourguignon. They offer savoury galettes (delicious crispy, buckwheat crepes, gluten free and organic) or dessert crepes both with a great range of authentic French fillings. It is the original French cafe in Rotorua where you can have the taste of authentic French food surrounded by some "ouh, la! La!" Or "Voila"...Alain and Valerie welcome you with Bonjour and you are the most welcome if you want to try your French.. Come and have a French experience without the jet lag....
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Enjoyed breakfast at Le Paris, good value for money, service good and friendly host makes you feel welcome. The atmosphere is great, this is a well known breakfast Cafe that will never disappoint. Their broadband provider let them down as they would not repair the line on the weekend so no eftpos available, caused a long queue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you very much Trevor for your review. We are very disappointed and upset by our landline provider who let us down nearly 2 weeks ago... We apologize to our customer but it's beyond our control. We hope to get the phone back today. Thank you for your understanding and patience. Merci
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    78
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast spot”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were staying at the Quest right next door and went for breakfast in the morning. We loved the French atmosphere and the great food. The hot chocolate was one of the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KMc073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Bonjour , thank you so much for your kind words, we are really glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, and looking forward for next time you coming around. Merci beaucoup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay French food”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Very good value, ordered the French toast and an omelette. Okay food, my French toast had an old banana on it and the bacon was not rasher bacon, but the ones you get in the packet. Should have ordered the French toast without the extras. Omelette was nicely cooked, but very oily. The staff were friendly, but you definitely got the impression that your service was second to the people the owners knew. I understand you may talk to the locals more, but not to the expense of your other customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finedinermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and being honest with us. We made the choice to use the bacon shoulder because it is more lean.
As for the banana, we do cook it first before it goes on the French toast.
Perhaps we were a little too generous with the cheese which can make the omelette a little oily (we do not use oil in the cooking).
My staff and myself always try to treat our customer in a very friendly manner and equally.
Next time you visit us please make yourself knowing to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely wee find”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff are always friendly and helpful. My first two visits were efficient but on the third the lady owner was more intent on giving other patrons a French lesson rather than serving us. On my first visit the owners son was having lessons on how to make one of their divine crepes so the food was a little longer in arriving at the table. The coffee is presented in a flamboyant way with their signature on the topping. If I want a thin and delicious crepe there is no other place to go. This place offers an experience with the fluent French being spoken and has a French theme all through the décor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your awesome review. It's great that's people notice we are about family and customers not just fast food... Do let us know if you are in a hurry !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in Rotorua”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a charming friendly place. We arrived just before closing and the owner made us so welcome. I had a perfect long black coffee (and I am the pickiest coffee drinker in the world) and the pastries are home made, authentic and absolutely delicious. My son's hot chocolate was beautifully decorated, and the owner treated him so kindly. Heading back for crepes tomorrow...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Merci beaucoup for your great review.
We are always pleased to satisfy a coffee connoisseur.
It was nice to see you back the next day.
We are looking forward to see you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe de Paris also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Le Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing