We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful French Cafe”
Review of Le Cafe de Paris

Le Cafe de Paris
Ranked #20 of 243 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Being greeted with a friendly "Bonjour!" As you enter the Cafe de Paris is one of its unique charms. The French owners, Alain (from Lyon) and Valerie (from Pau) settled in Rotorua 12 years ago.They provide a wide variety of French cuisine and an all day breakfast with a very competitive price of $9.90 . You can taste their unique almond croissant or beef bourguignon. They offer savoury galettes (delicious crispy, buckwheat crepes, gluten free and organic) or dessert crepes both with a great range of authentic French fillings. It is the original French cafe in Rotorua where you can have the taste of authentic French food surrounded by some "ouh, la! La!" Or "Voila"...Alain and Valerie welcome you with Bonjour and you are the most welcome if you want to try your French.. Come and have a French experience without the jet lag....
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We ate in this cafe every morning we stayed in Rotorua. There is a good choice on the menu and the all day breakfast is great value. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. The owner is very personable and we enjoyed our little chats each day.
lts a little slice of France and Would highly recommend this cafe if you are in Rotorua.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jessieeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monbijou, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Merci beaucoup for taking the time to post such wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience. We hope you are enjoying the beaches of Fidji. Take care and maybe see you again in Rotorua. Au revoir. Valérie & the Team of Le Café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Recommended to us by the Quest we went for crepes for breakfast. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. We could see it has a local following. We are happy to recommend Le Cafe de Paris to guests who are coming your way. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1accommodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monbijou, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Bonjour , Merci beaucoup.. Thanks for taking the time to post positive feedback about our cafe on trip advisor. We really appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Rotorua. Au revoir. Valerie & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I love the place, often meet friends there, service is good and friendly, food is fresh and tasty, waitresses and owners marvelously French. All day breakfast. Take any one there, they will be impressed!

Thank chiliwilinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monbijou, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post such positive feedback about our cafe on trip advisor, we really appreciate it. We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again next time you come. Au revoir Valerie & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Excellent breakfast, crepes on the menu! Coffee and baked goods are great but you can have a full breakfast too!

Thank MarinaWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monbijou, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Bonjour Marina, Thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We really appreciate youri visit and your comments. and we look forward to seeing you again next time you come to NZ. Au revoir à bientôt. Valérie & the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have been to Paris and Nice a few years ago. This little cafe brought back happy memory. It was probably not a fair comparison but the breakfast was average. On the other hand, it was interesting to read the scripts and posters on the wall (many small restaurants in Rotorua have similar feature-wall too). The owner and staff were extremely friendly. We was moved because ?the hostess warmly prepared our last order when we returned to the cafe for take-away. Merci.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WorldTraveler7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie L, Owner at Le Cafe de Paris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Bonjour, Merci beaucoup for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the genuine French poster and paintings direct from France. The French theme is very trendy and of course you can find some eiffel tower in few cafés around in Rotorua but the only café with an authentic French atmosphere and ambience is Le Café de Paris. About the breakfast, you have chosen the all day breakfast. It is one of the cheapest breakfast in town so everyone can afford it. If you read the menu we have a variety of different options. Next time when you are in a French café should try a French breakfast, croissant, pain au chocolat or almond croissant . Au revoir. Valérie & the team of Le café de Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe de Paris also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Le Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing