We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kiwi Hospitality at its very best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Panoramic Country Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Panoramic Country Homestay
Ranked #20 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kiwi Hospitality at its very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed with Chris and Dave for 4 nights in early February. Upon arrival you were immediately made to feel at home with wine and cakes. They both joined us for a great breakfast of home made bread and jams etc and ensured we knew of all the local attractions etc. Waking up to the view over the lake was amazing. The propoerty is just a short drive from Rotarua and on the west side of the lake so no sulpherous smells !

A great 4 nights, thanks for your hospitality and will certainly call again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice place to stay. The hosts are very friendly and made dinner reservations for us which was great. The house is exceptionally quiet at night so you can expect a good nights rest. The guest lounge room could do with a television and some wine glasses for an after dinner drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nespresso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayers1, Owner at A Panoramic Country Homestay, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your review. Yes we have been thinking about TV in the rooms, but TV is available in the TV room and plenty of wine glasses available also. Thanks for staying and we enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent 4 nights with Chris and Dave at their lovely farm house located only 20 minutes by car from Rotorua. Hamurana is a great location from where one can embark on many scenic nature walks and yet still access the restaurant and activities infrastructure of Rotorua. The house has a incredible view of the lake and a peaceful garden including a tennis court. Chris and Dave make you feel as if you are part of the family, and they always made sure that you have eaten well (and, Chris, thanks for the homemade grapefruit marmelade!). We could have easily spent a few more days with Chris and Dave, with whom we enjoyed our evening conversations and laughs very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellentonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our stay just wasn't long enough.Chris and Dave made us so welcome. The rooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable beds and a stunning view of Lake Rotorua. The house is ideally situated, just a short drive from the town, with no sulphur smells. The peace and quiet was heavenly. This is an ideal spot to return to after a day sightseeing. Our hosts were able to suggest places to visit. They joined us for breakfast and we shall miss Chris' homemade breads, pastries and jams, and also the sporting discussions on rugby and cricket with Dave. By the time we left, we felt as if we were leaving good friends behind. If we visit New Zealand again, this is a must.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights over the New Year with Chris and Dave and thouroughly relaxed into the charm and warmth of their company and lovely home. Very well appointed bedrooms and ensuits with a huge sitting area to put your feet up and chat about your travels over a cuppa. Great country feel and lovely bakery treats for breakfast. Must see is the Hamurana Springs close by, felt like we were walking through the Garden of Eden.
Perfect place to unwind and refresh away from the crowds.

Room Tip: The Mokoia Room has a great view of the gardens and Lake and is quite large with a very modern ensui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffs307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveandchris_12, Owner at A Panoramic Country Homestay, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you Shelagh and David for taking the time to write a review about our homestay on Trip Advisor. It is very much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and found it relaxing. We both enjoyed your company as well. It was great catching up with you while we were in Australia and hope that we can keep in contact and catch up with you again sometime. Regards Chris & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My partner & I stayed with Chris & Dave for one night only - our mistake as we would have loved to spend longer but prior comittments mean't we had to move on. My partner was hesitant to go to a homestay but after such a warm welcome, assistance with booking to go to a Hangi, travel advice, spotless room & a good breakfast, he is now converted homestayer. The superb view over Lake Rotorua & being able to bottle feed the lamb where just an added bonus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nejesateba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent two nights as guests at Chris and Dave's home. They made us feel very welcome and their hospitality was excellent. Chris arranged a wonderful Maori Hangi evening for us on the day we arrived, as well as advising us of the best local attractions. We enjoyed sharing breakfast and a chat with our hosts, as well as the special touches of being offered homemade cake on arrival and wine, trout and bedtime chocolates. The hot tub was an added bonus.

Room Tip: So good to have a bath as well as a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
8.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
5.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
7.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.2 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Panoramic Country Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Panoramic Country Homestay

Property: A Panoramic Country Homestay
Address: 144 Fryer Road | Hamurana, RD 7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Panoramic Country Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Panoramic Country Homestay is the ideal base to stay near many Rotorua attractions. Take in magnificent views overlooking Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Feel the peace and tranquility as you relax under the stars in the private guest heated massage spa pool. Curl up in front of the log fire in winter or the more energetic can play tennis or take many walks listening to the birds. Enjoy extra large beds for a peaceful nights sleep. All rooms have private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Panoramic Country Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing