We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere and friendly staff”

Pig and Whistle Historic Pub
Ranked #14 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Centrally located in a classic piece of bold 1940's architecture, the Pig & Whistle is a local landmark with a great history. Our friendly staff will make your visit one you'll want to repeat. Monteith's, Heineken, Tiger, Erdinger & Black Dog as well as three Ciders on tap, a fantastic range of New Zealand wines. Our pub menu includes favourites like Seafood Chowder, New Zealand Lamb Salad and Pork Spare Ribs and we cater to children also. And there are our world famous piggy fries! Our Snack Menu is available from 11.30am till Close, 7 Days a week and we have a great selection of desserts. The Pig & Whistle has live bands every Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Find out the up and coming bands on our Entertainment page. And we have big screen Hi Definition Sky Digital TV - catch your favourite sports on one of the big screens.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This pub is located in the middle of town and my wife and I visited recently on a Saturday night to watch the All Black's vs Australia. The atmosphere was fantastic, with the pub becoming very busy later in the evening. Despite this the staff were polite and friendly and coped efficiently with the very large number of people.
The food was good and served quickly, the prices were average but not unreasonable.
Definitely worth a visit for the atmosphere which was busy but very friendly, the history of the building is interesting too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    484
    133
    42
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The selection was excellent but maybe I just ordered the wrong thing - I ordered the ribs which was a huge portion but had to leave half of them - they were stone cold - normally the meat from the ribs falls of the bone but these, I felt like a caveman - really had to get my teeth into them and rip the meat of the bone - the sauce was nice. The other meals that came out for other guests looked nice - will remember for next time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Amazing food, staff, service, venue”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We visited from Auckland for a weeked. The food here was amazing, awesome service, both bar and food. All staff were happy, helpful and delight to be around. We were in Rotorua for two nights and were so impressed by our dinner we went back. They even recognised us. It felt like we were at our own local. We will definately be back, have already recommended it to others. Keep up the great work. Such a awesome place to represent NZ to the many tourists that must go through there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KavaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Price justifies the huge serving and the taste”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Place was packed when our group came in. Good thing we had a reservation. The place was great. When I was looking at the menu, I was thinking it was a bit on the expensive end. But when the food came out, the serving was huge. Plus it was great.

We had a great and satisfying (burrp) experience at Pig and Whistle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimoSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“I'll be back!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Can not fault anything! Menu had good variety
Meals were delivered quickly, we're very tasty and a decent amount
Staff were attentive but not overly so
Environment was clean warm and inviting
What more could you ask for?!?!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShazaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig and Whistle Historic Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Pig and Whistle Historic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing