We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”
Review of Timandra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timandra Motel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 25 March 2012

No fuss, no nonsense, clean, comfortable beds, etc. Quiet, no traffic or other guests noises. The daily service was excellent, all the staff we met and talked to were extremely cheerful and helpful. We recommend this motel to anyone who wants honest New Zealand fare that provides all the comforts at a honest New Zealand rate. We will be staying there again on our next visit to New Plymouth

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Timandra Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

No fuss, no nonsense, clean, comfortable beds, etc. Quiet, no traffic or other guests noises.
The daily service was excellent, all the staff we met and talked to were extremely cheerful and helpful. We recommend this motel to anyone who wants a clean base to work from while visiting New Plymouth. If you want the "Ritz" then keep looking, this is honest New Zealand fare that provides all the comforts at a honest New Zealand rate.. We will be staying there again on our next visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joh and Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a wonderfully quiet and secluded motel, yet it's only a few minutes' drive from the CBD.

Room 7 is particularly recommended for its private outlook onto the lawn and trees. Rooms are large and well cleaned. The motel generally and particularly the decor are very dated so don't come here if you want a modern feel.

We usually prefer modern accommodation when travelling, but we ended up really enjoying this place for its solitude.

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely for its outlook and separation from the others.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Saty here if you:
* Want somewhere that is quiet.
* Want somewhere that is surrounded by very pretty greenery, trees etc
* Want somewhere that is quite spacious
* Want somewhere that is clean and comfortable
Don't stay here if:
* You only want to be within a short walking distance of the main shopping area and be very close to the water. It was about a 20 minute walk to the main shopping area and the water from the Timandra. There is a bus (not sure how frequent it it).
* You want a flashy motel room. If you do you will probably pay quite a bit more.

My experience: I stayed here for a week by myself and loved staying here. Sometimes when you are away from home it can be depressing being in a small motel room. I loved being in a quiet spot with nice surrounds, lots of space in the room and the free wifi meant I could skype home every day. I recommend this as a place to stay. I think it is good value for money.

Room Tip: They all looked good and were all on ground level.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Beautiful location, was handy to town and the room was very comfortable. We would certainly stay there again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We loved the location - very easy to get to from the road into town, but lovely peaceful setting with no traffic noise. We had a 2 bedroom family unit which was comfortable, spacious and clean. Wish we'd had more time, we would have tried out the tennis court and gone for a longer walk! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

My husband and I stayed in a family room with our two children. The room was well equipped and spotlessly clean, and thought has obvious gone into making guests comfortable, including games equipment on the lawns. We had an excellent night's sleep due to the comfortable bed and the very quiet, peace setting bordering a bush reserve. The motel is an easy walk to Pukekura Park, where we took the kids for the Christmas lights.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#15 of 30 in New Plymouth
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.3 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timandra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timandra Motel

Address: 31b Timandra Street | Welbourn, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timandra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timandra Motel is a quiet, comfortable, central, affordable accommodation located 1.5km from city centre. Nestled down on a street set amongst bush, wake up to birdsong not traffic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Timandra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing