We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in New Plymouth”
Review of Timandra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timandra Motel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family stay in New Plymouth”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Used this Motel for 2 nights based on location, reviews and price. Our rooms were clean, with few amenities, as expected, I’ve been pleased. The owner operator was very friendly and helpful.I was provided very helpful information about New Plymouth and places to visit in that area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    35
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
17
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Booked this motel for three nights online as was close to the TSB Stadium, reasonably priced and looked clean and tidy. Upon a quite late arrival greeted by a nice pleasant man, paid for the room and were shown to our unit. Entering the unit all windows were open so it was cold inside and were hit by the overpowering smell of air freshener. Didn't pay too much attention as it was late. Woke up early next day to bad sinus and a sore throat (what I thought was a result of sniffing in air freshener all night) and back late to all the windows being open (after being closed in the morning for safety issues with gear left in unit) and air freshener again. Up early next day this time leaving a note to cleaners not to spray air freshener, as allergic to it and leave windows closed for safety reasons. Returned briefly that morning to find cleaner in the room who duly informed us that the reason for all the air freshener and open windows was because the day before we checked into the room it was flooded by the previous occupants and that is was still damp!!!! Not a mention of this at all at time of check in. Having no one there to speak with waiting until the next morning only to be told that the owners were out of the region and would not being returning until later that day. Which of course was too late for us as we were leaving to return home. Then spent the next few days hold up at home with a cold and asthma - a direct cause of sleeping in a damp, over air freshened room!!!! Not too mention being covered in itchy bites - fleas from the resident cat that's allowed to roam the rooms?? Mosquitoes that came in through the open windows??? Or dear I say it....... dreaded BB?!?!? That one I will leave up to you.... all I can say is Never Ever Again!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_Flyer091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Timandra Motel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I'm very sorry that the reviewer did not enjoy their stay. My partner checked them in, they were late arriving (hours after reception officially closed) but we made a point of ensuring they were welcomed and kept the office open for a while after in case they needed anything. We were also on site the whole of the next day when their friend checked in with them, and didn't receive any negative feedback.

I confess to be a little confused by the review, we do use air freshener after cleaning the room to clear cooking smells etc from previous guests, but then we usually leave a couple windows open to let the room freshen naturally and typically the smell of the air freshener doesn't last. They asked the cleaner not to use air freshener the following day & I am assured by her that she did as requested. As for the dampness, well, this is where it gets strange - this was caused by a previous guest, however not in that room! The incident occurred when our other cleaner was on duty hence the misunderstanding...the 'problem' room was machine-dried and luckily we were able to keep it empty for 2 days (thank heavens it happened in off season), so we're totally perplexed by this!

The room the reviewer stayed in has been occupied nearly every day since they left and all subsequent guests have been happy with their stay. Unfortunately, as the reviewer mentioned, we were off site when they checked out.

The cleaner did mention that when she went in every single window was sealed shut, we usually recommend at least one is kept slightly open to stop the room getting stuffy.

Had the guests came back to us at check in, or even the next day, we could have offered another room that might have been better suited, it is disappointing that they have simply posted their grievances publicly without giving us chance to help them, although I note that the only other review this person has left has had a similar response from the hotel.

I am very disappointed that we could not have given the opportunity to make the guest's stay a pleasant one, all I can do at this juncture is offer my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The latter part of our holiday was spent in the New Plymouth area at the Timandra Motel. Our hosts Stu and Pete provided excellent accommodation and service. In particular, we were given good information of the best places to eat in New Plymouth as well as brochures highlighting interesting places to visit in the area. The motel is in a lovely peaceful setting with a tennis court as well as games for children available. It brought our holiday in New Zealand to a memorable conclusion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our stay was very pleasant, we were blessed with good weather and really enjoyed the garden setting. The motel is an older style property but the unit we stayed in was nicely appointed, the owner was very helpful, recommended a great little Italian and helped us with our bearings. Friendly cat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicanfly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I booked online after viewing the other reviews on Trip Advisor and their own website. We wanted somewhere quiet, clean and usually stay in new modern motels as we travel weekly for our business and like some comfort after a hard day. It looked fine on their website and the price was reasonable so we thought why not. We got there and didn't recieve a friendly welcome and had to pay for the room straight away, at the time I thought this was a little strange as we have never had to pay until the morning but oh well everyone has different policys I suppose. In hindsight I should have asked to view the room first.
It said on their website that the room had been refurbished so I thought that this would be great and it looked ok on the website. Upon entering the room it smelt musty and not really too sure what was refurbished but it was just old!!! There was mould on the windows and crumbs still on the table. YUCK! My husband refused to stay and politely went and asked for a refund to no avail. The man at the desk had a bad attitude!
I don't like to give a bad reveiw and perhaps should have listened to some of the other reviews more eg. about it not being modern. But when they say the room has been refurbished you tend to think the WHOLE room has been done up, the bathroom area was still old with old fittings maybe they had splashed a bit of paint around. Anyway like someone else said if you want modern, new and friendly customer service at the front desk don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyCatNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timandra, Owner at Timandra Motel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
The above review is full of inaccuracies, I was in reception when the lady arrived and was courteous, polite and helpful offering advice on where to eat and so forth, the gentleman looked stressed out and remained seated in the vehicle. The room is kept very clean to a high standard, it is possible that the cleaner missed the 4 or 5 crumbs on the table, I admit mistakes can happen, however I did see them unload their food shopping on the table when they checked in as the office is opposite the unit. There was categorically no mould in the room, and the guest did not mention this when he came over to reception.

The guests themselves mention they do not like staying in older style motels, and had realised they had made a choice that did not suit them, however instead of gracefully accepting this they have left an inaccurate and misleading review on Tripadvisor.

We are a small motel with a limited number of units, therefore we have a strict cancellation policy and can not afford last minute changes brought about by a change of heart, our policy is clearly advertised at the time of booking and we would not provide a refund unless we were at fault.

The room has been recently refurbished with a new king bed, flat screen TV and furnishings, we make no claim to being a 'new modern' motel, either on Tripadvisor or our own website. The pictures shown in both locations are less than a year old and accurately represent the unit in question. Many guest appreciate that we are an older style motel with large rooms with separate bedrooms (no studios) in a quiet garden location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

No fuss, no nonsense, clean, comfortable beds, etc. Quiet, no traffic or other guests noises. The daily service was excellent, all the staff we met and talked to were extremely cheerful and helpful. We recommend this motel to anyone who wants honest New Zealand fare that provides all the comforts at a honest New Zealand rate. We will be staying there again on our next visit to New Plymouth

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

No fuss, no nonsense, clean, comfortable beds, etc. Quiet, no traffic or other guests noises.
The daily service was excellent, all the staff we met and talked to were extremely cheerful and helpful. We recommend this motel to anyone who wants a clean base to work from while visiting New Plymouth. If you want the "Ritz" then keep looking, this is honest New Zealand fare that provides all the comforts at a honest New Zealand rate.. We will be staying there again on our next visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joh and Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
#22 of 30 in New Plymouth
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timandra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timandra Motel

Property: Timandra Motel
Address: 31b Timandra Street | Welbourn, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timandra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timandra Motel is a quiet, comfortable, central, affordable accommodation located 1.5km from city centre. Nestled down on a street set amongst bush, wake up to birdsong not traffic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Timandra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing