We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful hosts, very clean and tidy, just what we wanted for our two night stay. Upgraded to access unit for mobility impaired mum was a welcome bonus. Will definately stay here again if in New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned home after almost two weeks at the Flamingo while we had business in New Plymouth. The unit was spotless and very comfortable but the biggest asset of this place is the attitude of the owners and their staff. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was a bother and every day they asked if there was anything else they could do to make our stay better. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ci_bach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just got back from 3 nights at the Flamingo Motel. We have stayed at numerous motels during our trips to NZ but none have been as comfortable or as welcoming as this one. From the moment we arrived till we left we were made to feel like family and everywhere was as clean and tidy as it was possible to be . It isnot the Ritz or Hilton or any five star.palace but is the nicest motel you could wish for.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree J, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Alan, thank you so much for your kind comments. We are not the flashest motel in town but we do aim to be the cleanest and it is nice to have that noticed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a fantastic time here. Motel room extremely clean , great attention to detail. The service was fantastic, the owner dropped me down at my bike ride start venue ... unbelievable. Our children loved the pools. The room was a bit dated but honestly it did not matter as it was soooo spotless and the price was great , so we would highly recommend it. The owners make you feel like you are life long friends and we are looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zico455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree J, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We try to go the extra mile to make our guests feel at home and welcome so we are glad to have made your stay so comfortable for you. Thank you for taking the time to post a comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner & I stayed here the weekend 8/9 March 2014. The hospitality that we received was outstanding and a very delightful place to stay!
Upon arrival we were also given complimentary wine & beer...what a plus

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivib57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maree J, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, it is encouraging to hear that our efforts are appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Can only recommend this place. Staff are warm and very friendly and go the extra mile to make their visitors welcome. Upon arrival we got a vino and beer as welcome drink.
While the décor a bit retro all is spotless. 2hrs free WIFI is a bonus aswell.
I can only recommend this place and we certainly will stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bliss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here one night, clean and comfortable and the hosts where very welcoming. 2 hours free wifi was very handy and unexpected. The only drawback was our unit was right by the road so we didn't use the balony because of the traffic noise, with the door shut it was nice and quiet though. I would recommend this place just remember to take your togs for the hot pool and outdoor pool :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 355 Devon Street West, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £62 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing