We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhe worst backpacker I have ever been to”
Review of Egmont Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egmont Eco Lodge
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 7 June 2011

All is in the title!
More seriously, this backpacker is really a shame. We were 7 friends for a road trip last week. One of my friend booked by phone and gave his card number, which was a big mistake... Indeed, when we arrived, the receptionist told us that his account will be debited for $35 per person very soon, WHICH WAS NOT THE PRICE FOR THE DORM!!!!! ON THE WEBSITE AND IN FRONT OF THE COUNTER, THE PRICE OF THE DORM WAS FIXED AT $28 !!!!! We couldn't do anything, and the receptionist told us that when we booked by phone, we didn't book with her, but with the owner of the backpacker, Gary B. Ogle, who wasn't there, and, therefore, that she could't do anything for us! We were shocked, the receptionist wouldn't hear anythong concerning the price, but as we were tired, we didn't want to struggle all night long. So we moved to the $35-per-person-dorm which was in fact a crappy hut with a broken window, a tiny heater, no washbasin, no toilet and no blankets!! Moreover, the toilets and the showers, which were located in an other building were very dirty (dead flies all over the floor... yum yum).When we came back to the reception, the receptionist wasn't there, so we took by ourselves 7 blankets in a cupboard in order not to be frozen during the night. At 9 am the receptionist came into the dorm, woke up us, and told us that we should't have taken the blankets.
When we left the backpacker, we demanded explanations for the excessive price we paid and the receptionist told us that " due to the blankets episode, it was not relevant now" !!!!!! The icing on the cake that the card was debited by $ 288 which is not coherent with 7*28 (the price we should have paid) = 196 and even more, which is not coherent with 7*35 (the price THEY fixed instead of $28 person!!) = 245 !!!
The owner is really a crook!! As ou can see, there are other bad reviews concerning this backpacker, we are not the only ones who had serious problems with this backpacker.

I hope this detailed review will encourage you not to book there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank truth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

Altho a YHA this is more a former Christian camp collection of buildings. Not wishing to stay in a dorm I booked a single room. This consisted of a concrete block cell that had at some point been an office - fittings still obvious. Had to share communal shower/toilets. Room was filthy - could write my name in dust. Cost $75 which, in most parts of NZ, will get you a very decent motel room. Avoid!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ralf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

First of all be careful with this place, since you can't check in before 5pm, which they don't tell you when you make the booking. It seems ok from the outside though it's a little far from the centre of town in the suburbs. But the main problem was the receptionist, who practically told us off for turning up a few minutes before 5pm and told us off for not parking the car properly even though there are no lines painted. We just were forced to sit in the car like fools after driving 7 hours while she just starred at us making us feel uncomfortable. So we decided to go elsewhere, only to get our credit card debited for the night even though we were blocked from checking in and were given the rudest arrival I've ever had and I've been to heaps of YHA hostels in NZ and all are excellent, but this is the black sheep be careful!!! The place appeared deserted as well at the time, better off checking other places in town I think. Really the low point of our whole trip in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank iLovetotravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We arrived at the hostel to find you could only check in after 5pm which was a bit of a pain compared to most other hostels. There were cats roaming around in the kitchen, living room and where ever else they wanted to go. The kitchen was small and the one computer they had was broken. Our room was very basic and the curtains did not fully close. Although the receptionist was nice enough one word to describe the hostel is dingy. There wasn't anything drastically wrong but nothing was maintained well compared to other hostels we have stayed at in NZ especially other YHA's.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carley99_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This was our base camp for our trek around taranaki. The receptionist was great - she upgraded our roon, stored our luggage for us while we were gone, and was generally extremely helpful.

Its a little far from the town center, which is a problem when you need to catch the bus with 40 pounds of luggage and a sprained ankle...

Other then that, it was perfect..

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Wind in the trees and a babbling brook set the tone for this hostel in a lovely glen. Very convenient to both town and Egmont/Taranaki National Park, this is a very good base for backpackers and day hikers. We were car touring, and loved our stay here, even as seniors. Very friendly and accomodating, even Egmont the hostel cat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmyersut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Ariki Backpackers
Ariki Backpackers
#5 of 16 in New Plymouth
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#29 of 30 in New Plymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egmont Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egmont Eco Lodge

Address: 12 Clawton Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Egmont Eco Lodge YHA)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £22 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egmont Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA New Plymouth Egmont Eco Lodge is a centrally located hostel in a seven acre valley surrounded by three acres of New Zealand native forest and a bubbling stream. Wake to the chorus of birdsong in the modern backpacker hostel accommodation after a perfect night’s sleep. Relax on YHA New Plymouth’s sunny decks or laze in hammocks under trees. Dare to feed the monster Egmont eels by hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Egmont Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing