We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant, dirty,”
Review of Egmont Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egmont Eco Lodge
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in this lodge with a group...apart from the location which was really convenient for us, all the rest was terrible. During the 5 days of our stay, the toilets and showers have never been cleaned once! Staff seemed friendly but totally unhelpful. The Eco part of the name is a joke as they use chemical herbicide around the pathways. And finally they try to charge your credit card for extra cost without your consent! Apart from this place, New Plymouth is really a nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sisko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

The bedroom we stayed is outside of the main building, where are the bathrooms. And it was very cold outside. Also there was a bad smell in the room. I don't recommend it, especially if you don't have car, since it's not in thur city center. However, I don't recommend it even if you car as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karlajaniques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Zero stars in the YHA Hostel-Guide?
Well, we finally found out why:
-small kitchen without good equipment
-Hostel is not member of these YHAs with free wifi
-Paid Internet which is very slow and has problems to connect fluently
-Expensive YHA prices for very small rooms, bad matraces and
without any safes or cupbords
-A washing machine which stopssuddenlyhalf on the
way and a dryer which eeds 3 coins to have really dry clothes
-Unfriendly staff with bad service and erliest check-in time at 5.00
-they have the reception for the YHA and one BBH together in the YHA. so the people who want to stay in the BBH first get also to the YHA reception. And obvious their are free beds, the tell nearlz everyone that the (cheaper) BBH is fully booked...( spoke with cleaners)

must be the worst YHA in whole NZ!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank felixef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Wow great place to stay , right in the middle of New Plymouth , 7 acres of paradise, native birds, a stream with pet eels, chickens, and pet pidgeons.

Really clean , bathrooms, friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't ask for any more. We will be back.

Came with my wife to stay only one night and stayed a week.

Thank you for an awesome experience.

Room Tip: We had room 7 beside the stream, nice and peaceful listening to the running water all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewPlymouthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed overnight at Egmont Eco leisure park with family and friends. We found out that the room we were booked in has an adjoining room that the door was unlock and that we cannot lock from our side.I was concerned about the security of my family ( husband and daughters ages 12,8,and 18months old) should there be guests/strangers in the other room ( luckily there were no guests that night) so we politely asked the manager if the other group could use it instead and she said no as there is an early booking the following day. Few hours after we checked out my friend received an accusing email saying we break in and helped ourselves through the adjoining room and made quite a mess,all bunk beds were moved around and beds and linens were used. $125 instead of $300 deducted without consent from credit card as charge for the room we allegedly trash .showed good will by giving us discount but a modus operandi (if we trashed that room,why give us a discount?). We checked in after 7pm,went to see festival of lights by 9pm back to the accommodation just before midnight ,checked out around 9am the following day,every one was tired to trash the room...rude and insulting emails sent by proprietor, ruined the rest our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MRM927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I had not seen the other reviews before staying here, otherwise we would have avoided the place.

I don't know if there are new managers or owners, but our experience was very positive. We stayed for 2 nights and the level of cleanliness was exceptional, with staff spraying and polishing mirrors, shelves and hand basins at least daily (I saw them). The kitchen was also spotless. There weren't many people staying and it was very quiet and peaceful with a beautiful garden setting. It is located away from the town centre.

We had a double room which was quite small, but very clean and quiet, with shared bathroom / toilet facilities. I can't remember what the cost was, but it was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Do read (and think about) the other reviews of this establishment before booking. I am concerned about the way the proprietor runs his business. I am disappointed that the service guests receive reflects poorly on Taranaki, NZ, and the YHA organisation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RozKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#12 of 30 in New Plymouth
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Ariki Backpackers
Ariki Backpackers
#5 of 16 in New Plymouth
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#29 of 30 in New Plymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egmont Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egmont Eco Lodge

Address: 12 Clawton Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Egmont Eco Lodge YHA)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £21 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egmont Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA New Plymouth Egmont Eco Lodge is a centrally located hostel in a seven acre valley surrounded by three acres of New Zealand native forest and a bubbling stream. Wake to the chorus of birdsong in the modern backpacker hostel accommodation after a perfect night’s sleep. Relax on YHA New Plymouth’s sunny decks or laze in hammocks under trees. Dare to feed the monster Egmont eels by hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Egmont Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing