We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and clean”
Review of Egmont Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Egmont Eco Lodge
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This was our base camp for our trek around taranaki. The receptionist was great - she upgraded our roon, stored our luggage for us while we were gone, and was generally extremely helpful.

Its a little far from the town center, which is a problem when you need to catch the bus with 40 pounds of luggage and a sprained ankle...

Other then that, it was perfect..

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2009

Wind in the trees and a babbling brook set the tone for this hostel in a lovely glen. Very convenient to both town and Egmont/Taranaki National Park, this is a very good base for backpackers and day hikers. We were car touring, and loved our stay here, even as seniors. Very friendly and accomodating, even Egmont the hostel cat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmyersut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Jeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhoda971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmiyanoura1934shaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Braemar Motor Inn
Braemar Motor Inn
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ariki Backpackers
Ariki Backpackers
#8 of 16 in New Plymouth
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#14 of 30 in New Plymouth
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carrington Motel
Carrington Motel
#30 of 30 in New Plymouth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egmont Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egmont Eco Lodge

Address: 12 Clawton Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Egmont Eco Lodge YHA)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £20 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Egmont Eco Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA New Plymouth Egmont Eco Lodge is a centrally located hostel in a seven acre valley surrounded by three acres of New Zealand native forest and a bubbling stream. Wake to the chorus of birdsong in the modern backpacker hostel accommodation after a perfect night’s sleep. Relax on YHA New Plymouth’s sunny decks or laze in hammocks under trees. Dare to feed the monster Egmont eels by hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Egmont Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing