We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lockwood Manor Motel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed overnight after having driven the "Forgotten Highway". Check in easy and friendly, room very clean and exactly what we needed. Close to the city, walked to a bar/restaurant for dinner. Check out just as easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_Downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    55
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
47
102
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Our Queen Studio was roomy, clean and comfortable. The internet worked first time, every time and 2 computers were no problem. Bath robes were a bonus and the breakfast was huge and arrived hot to our room. Kelly-Anne was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and entertainment and nothing was too much trouble. We will be back on our next business trip and next time I promise not to steal the hair dryer. Kelly-Anne was very understanding when I unpacked it in Christchurch!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coromandel peninsula
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

On Christmas Eve day and Christmas day we stayed at Lockwood Manor. The motel appeared to have recently been refurbished and we couldn't fault it, every little detail had been considered and we were very comfortable. We think the owners are doing an excellent job!
We would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking for somewhere in New Plymouth.

Room Tip: If you prefer to be quiet ask to be moved away from the roadfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here one night and agree with other reviewers that the young couple managing the motels are doing an excellent job. They were friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The unit had been refurbished and was tastefully decorated and very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbs772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dili
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was up there amongst the best of our accommodation experiences in New Zealand. The owners are friendly and helpful (which we have found surprisingly rare elsewhere in NZ), and judging by the way they conduct their business, obviously really care about the guest's experience. The units themselves are beautiful - modern yet warm. We really felt we could relax and spend time there. There is everything you could possibly need, as well as little thoughtful extras (nice-quality toiletries, bathrobes, good coffee, magazines, etc). And yay for unlimited internet - we got quite grumpy having to pay for this elsewhere. A great bonus was being able to use bikes for free to explore the coastal walkway. It cost us a little more than we paid elsewhere in NZ but was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atauro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

The young couple who manage this motel are doing a fantastic job of keeping it clean and comfortable for their guests! The pretty flowers lining the entrance and driveway and the high wooden ceilings of the rooms give the place a nice touch. We stayed for two nights and the location was perfect for our golf game at New Plymouth Golf Course or to walk into the town for dinner. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Lockwood Motor Inn is very well run motel. It seems to be set up mainly to cater for single night guests. We stayed for 5 nights and found a few minor things wanting. For example while there is a wardrobe with hangers for shirts, etc, there are no drawers or shelves to unpack personal items onto. So we lived out of suitcases. The mini bar in the small fridge, while desirable for a one night stand just took up needed space in the fridge for us.
There was expected noise from the adjacent major road and some noise from adjacent units. Not too much of a bother for us. Other reviews have mentioned 'double glazing'- there wasn't any in our unit.
The WifI works well. The bed was reasonably comfortable.
Any issues were attended to promptly. The motel is a short distance by car from the city area and other attractions.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night or a quiet night is important then discuss it with the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Property: Lockwood Manor Motel
Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lockwood Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing