We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lockwood Manor Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Has to rate as good as any motel/hotel accommodation we have experienced, at any price, and the price wasn't bad. Room was spacious, clean, well fitted out with best quality furniture, cutlery, crockery etc. Reasonably priced laundry facility. Nice big telly, very generous free wi-fi data allocation. Spotless roomy shower/toilet area. Located pretty handy to CBD and numerous eateries, supermarkets and garage (with carwash!) Close to main south traffic way but surprisingly quiet. Friendly helpful owners.
Will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Great review, thank-you for your time in writing it.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Couldn't fault this motel. Location excellent. Walking distance to CBD and Coastal Walkway.
Unit was spotless, large, and very well appointed. Free Wi-Fi was trouble free, and quick access.
Large number of good restaurants available, some within walking distance, and others, just a short drive away.
Only a half hour drive to the north summit information in the Egmont National Park.

Room Tip: No restaurant or pool to rate. There is traffic noise as motel close to main road, but it didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank oinkymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks for your review, & we would love to have you back.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Went to New Plymouth for 4 nights over WOMAD weekend. Stayed here and it is by far and away the best motel we have ever stayed in. We have travelled all through NZ and USA staying mainly in motels and found this one to be in a class of its own. Everything about it was superior and if it was a hotel would rate up there with the best. On return visits to New Plymouth, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Was a little concerned that there would be traffic noise as the unit we had was near the road, but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26PADDY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thanks for your great review about Lockwood Manor, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Spotlessly clean, well-appointed, full kitchenette, comfortable bed, GREAT shower, well laid out room. TV/wifi great. Good value. We traveled NZ for a month and found this to be one of the best places we stayed

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Fantastic Allen! Thanks for your great review so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Kind Regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked here online but never stayed as had family emergency they used our visa card and debited the room over a month later. BE AWARE, stay somewhere else. I will be telling every company i know not to book there staff there in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyfromhuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Unfortunately this aspect of no shows in our business is the most difficult to deal with but thankfully it is one that does not happen often.

We had a two night online booking from this guest and began trying to make contact with his mobile number during the evening to make sure he was coming (at 9:07, 9:19 and 10:03) but could only leave a message through to his voicemail.

After a further phone attempt the following morning to try and work out why he didn’t show, with no luck, I tried calling from my mobile which immediately got through. After a quick introduction the guest hung up on me, with no mention of any family emergency or reason for his no show.

It was this response, together with his not replying to our voice messages and not answering his phone when the caller ID obviously showed it was our motel calling that led us to believe that he decided to not travel to New Plymouth and simply couldn’t be bothered to call us to cancel.

When we tried to take payment from the visa details provided it declined due to insufficient funds. Only when we were finalizing our debtors recently did we try the card again, hence it being over a month later.

If there was a family emergency then of course we would have removed the booking regardless of any cancellation policy, even though we were full that night and had been turning guests away.

In regards to the be aware comment – we try and be as accommodating as possible, and regularly relax our cancellation policies. But no shows seriously affect our business and if we receive no contact then we honestly believe we are entitled to recoup our losses. In this case we are still out of pocket as we only charged the one night rather than the two booked.

It’s unfortunate you would tell every company you know not to stay here, we try hard to please all our guests as shown on other comments, and have a very loyal base of corporate/family regulars who enjoy staying with us.

David Cruikshank.
Manager Lockwood Manor Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the Lockwood in February 2014. Very close to shopping and the CBD of New Plymouth what really appealed to me was the beautifully appointed rooms. The kitchen was complete in every way, the TV had Pay TV access not like other Hotels and Motels where the range is appalling. Internet access was excellent and they even have in the room an umbrella. Like this is attention to detail or what ! The vaulted ceilings made the rooms visually big and the beds where also very good to sleep in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANS_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank-you very much for your review! Glad you liked the selection of TV channels with sky 50+ . And Yes we find an umbrella sometimes can come in handy during your stay :). Kind regards Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Everything on their website is true. Our Queen suite +1 was clean and comfortable. We used the BBQ (new with gas) and our kitchenette - even though we were only here one night, The store and coast are in walking distance. The hosts were friendly - overall - a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jahna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks Jahna we would be please to have you again! And yes you must of been one of the first ones to use the NEW upgraded BBQ. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lockwood Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing