We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, well equipped, friendly and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lockwood Manor Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Reasonably central, well priced, reasonably modern furnishings, friendly people. The room was nicely appointed, containing everything we needed for a few nights. Heat pump quick and efficient. There is some noise from the sliding doors of other rooms, but that is more of a construction issue and did not detract.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank-you very much for your review, Glad you liked your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for three nights Queens Birthday weekend and were very impressed with the welcome from all staff. The room was lovely and clean, warm with excellent linen and lovely big bath towels. Bed super comfy. Unit 2 was close to the busy one-way road but we had no problem with the noise. Close proximity to the beautiful coastal walk, very central to all other commodities. Definitely recommend anyone to stay - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank-you very much for your review! Great to hear you liked the comfy bed, Its a new one and most of them are this type.
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Friendly and welcoming owners
Clean and inviting rooms with excellent heating for cooler months.
Fell in love with the tin opener!!!! Where can I get one????
Very central to supermarkets and fast food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KayCat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your review! The tin opener is from Mitre 10 I think they are brilliant too, I was lucky enough to have a sales man stay and recommend them now all the rooms have them.

Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Being from the Bay of Plenty, New Plymouth is cold (apparently due to their mountain). Lockwood Manor was warm and comfortable. As well, it was clean and had everything we needed. It was close to the city and easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

So pleased you found your room comfy and warm. Thanks for your review.

Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely well equipped unit at a very reasonable price,run by a lovely couple. If we'd had longer time available, we would've loved to have taken advantage of the bikes
they can provide (included in price).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuttynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank-you for your review. You will have to stay again one day and take advantage of the bikes its a fab ride along the costal walkway.

Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Excellent stay, very handy to the main centre. The units were excellent. Only gripe found that the units were not very sound proof, but wonder if that's a Lockwood thing. Sliding doors were very noisey especially at night. Overall I would return as the hostess was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helena_lindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your review! Unfortunately people can be a bit heavy handed with the sliding doors.
But we would love to have you back!
Kind regards
Kelly-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at Lockwood Manor Motel. As others have mentioned, it was spotlessly clean and lots of nice touches to make it super comfortable. Unfortunately - due to unforeseen circumstances we could only stay for one of the two nights booked. We fully expected to have to pay for the second night when we checked out early, so were thrilled when the owner said she would not charge us as she would be able to rebook the room - amazing customer service - we really appreciated it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwoodmanormotel, Manager at Lockwood Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank-you for your review, Yes we are always as fair as possible.

Kind regards
Kelly-Anne Cruikshank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £76 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lockwood Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing