We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lockwood Manor Motel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Motel”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We arrived here after a long drive from Wellington and were very pleased with our choice. A lovely modern room with a heat pump/air con on a hot day, bliss! The room was a great size with modern furniture and a kitchen with everything you'd need. Awesome high pressure shower! A great selection of DVDs to choose from at reception and a flyer in the room told us all about the New Plymouth Festival of Lights which was great and provided my photo-mad partner with an opportunity to take some arty photos. The owners were very friendly and even gave me a plant after I commented that I liked the ones she had around the edging, can't ask for any better than that!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    55
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
49
102
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

The room was spacious, clean and tidy. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom a little small but very clean. For the price this was an excellent motel, and we've stayed in a few in New Plymouth, including the larger hotels, and this would be the one we would go back to.
Very friendly staff too.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Was a bit worried about traffic noise as the location was close to a busy road but we had no problems. The room was lovely - large, well laid out, clean and the staff (the couple were "babysitting" the motel while owners were elsewhere) were very helpful and friendly making sure that all was as it should be. Free WIFI is a great attraction for this motel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjay_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My husband and I checked in for a week's stay. Main aim was to be close enough to town and also be able to prepare our own meals. This motel offered both and also had other value added benefits such as free internet (a real important thing for us to be connected) and movies which you could borrow.
The kitchen facilities were very good and adequate to prepare almost any kind of meal. Room was very clean and serviced daily. Features and decor were also modern and inviting. Definitely took a lot of the stress off our visit, to find a new home and school in New Plymouth. A sure recommendation for couples or small families.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma77_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The Lockwood Manor was extremely comfortable to stay at for our week in New Plymouth. Rooms are very clean, bed comfortable and the location is convenient to downtown. We especially appreciated the kitchen so we could prepare our own meals. Staff and owners were great and very accommodating. Definitely our first choice when we return to the region.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartperlmeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Good location, about 3 mins away from the city centre. Nice and Clean and friendly service! A bit too close to the motorway tho, so a bit noisy when trucks drive by at night!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AshleyandToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This is what I look for when searching for a place to stay:
1. Cleanness
2. Comfort
3. Location
4. Warm in Winter
5. Service

Loockwood Motel provided all this requirements. For this reason I would come back to it if in New Plymouth again and recommed it to others either in business or leisure.
In Addition we had travelled with a 1 year old baby who slept in a cosy cot set up by the host for her.

Thanks
Ximenita Trejo Araya (Latin Wardrobe Ltd)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximena8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lockwood Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lockwood Manor Motel

Property: Lockwood Manor Motel
Address: 47 Hobson Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lockwood Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground floor spacious Lockwood well appointed studio units, four units are interconnecting to cater for families. All units have fully equipped kitchens, double glazing, heat pumps, Air con, under-floor heating, Heated towel rails 32' flat screen TVs, 50+ sky channels. The units are beautifully presented and are kept to a very high standard and serviced daily. There is a BBQ & guest laundry available. Parking is on site outside your door with extra parking also. Corporate rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lockwood Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lockwood Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing