We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, clean, stylish but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brougham Heights Motel
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We chose this place due to it's Bartercard connection so for me it was great value. You couldn't get any closer to the best that New Plymouth has to offer. Restaurants abound nearby, the water front is just a couple of blocks away. The world class Pukekura Park not far away either. Central city city shopping on the doorstep, so big score for location. The unit was large and - by motel standards - stylishly outfitted with some pretty classy amenities. It was as clean as you could hope for. Big score for that. But, the sleep was not as good as one would hope or expect. We stayed 3 nights and two nights were disturbed at very late hour by other guests enjoying the summer weather on the balcony and what to them were some very funny jokes for at least two hours. I'm sure the managers would have heard it as well, but no one dared to ask them to quieten down. No score for late night management. And then there was the bed. What never ceases to amaze me is that some motel and hotel owners will spend a ton of money on non-essential bits and pieces to give the impression of class yet skimp to the bottom of the barrel when it comes to providing a decent bed. The bed in this unit was the most basic of inner sprung mattresses which sagged to the middle and certainly did not provide the kind of comfort one needs after a long tiring journey. Given the quality of new technology mattresses now available for very little outlay, it does not make economic sense to go cheap on the most important part of a motel stay.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and overall it's a great place to stay. I'm sure that noisy guests are not the norm so I would consider staying again. but I would prefer a place with better quality beds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for your review. I agree that the bed is the most important thing that we have in the motel as that is effectively what we are selling. We are always upgrading the beds so will take a serious look at the unit you were in get the bed upgraded.
Sometimes when guests make noise at night the management may not hear this as we do have a large complex, we will always act if we hear anything or if a guest lets us know there is a problem.
We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very central location to city center. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Off street parking. One small negative was the upstairs rooms were very hot (leave the windows open). Great house keeping etc. And the breakfasts are good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzz36f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. With regards to the warm upstairs bedrooms, we are currently taking steps to help with this by putting up sun shade blinds to keep the rooms cooler during the day.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed Mo's breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have stayed at this place several times and will keep going back. The service is fantastic and the rooms are incredibly clean and tidy (high praise from a clean freak like me!). Very close to town, just a short safe walk home if you're having a night out on the town. Almost reluctant to post this as I love staying here and don't want it to become too popular ;-) Definitely recommend staying here if you come to New Plymouth!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks Nikita, always a pleasure having you stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very easy to find, very handy location, walking distance to resteraunts, bars,shops and other attractions, staff were friendly and helpful, our room was very clean, warm and well laid out, huge bathroom with a spa bath (nice) sky tv and reclining arm chairs (what else could a guy want) bed was clean and comfy, air con good and quiet, only minor issue was the traffic noise (Saturday night 'hoons') I would happily stay again but would ask for a room on the other side of the complex.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise on Brougham st. side rooms, so ask for a room from the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for your great review. It is always nice to know that we are getting things right. If only we could control the "hoon" noise things would be perfect. Some of the units away from the town side of the complex are quieter than others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We turned up on the doorstep at Brougham Heights with no reservation and in desperate need of accommodation. The hosts were sensitive to our needs and accommodated us at a very busy time for them. The rooms were great and the layout of the motel is very private and secure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K0neW0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review on Brougham Heights. We were very glad we managed to accommodate you during this busy time. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The room was warm, very clean and well appointed. I would definitely stay here again if travelling back to New Plymouth. It was very central to town also. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi Emma

Thanks for your review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Since my last review i have stayed here twice. Both times as family members were in hospital.
I am so glad that i gave Brougham Heights a second chance, as the rooms are cosy, clean and inviting. It is nice and close to the hospital, but close enough to town that i could take my car to the hospital and my other family members could enjoy what New Plymouth CBD has to offer.
I would highly recommend this motel to any and everyone. Thanks Brougham Heights Motel for improving my experience.

Room Tip: If you do not mind road noise i recommend room 33 for families as the couch is bigger and more compf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi Michaela

Thanks for your review, pleased your experience was a good one. Hopefully you wont have to make too many visits that include going back and worth to the hospital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#10 of 30 in New Plymouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brougham Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brougham Heights Motel

Address: 54 Brougham Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brougham Heights Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brougham Heights Motel is centrally located within walking distance of the Foreshore Walkway, cafes and restaurants and Pukekura park. It is a four star plus property with units ranging from studio units to two berdoom family units. Every unit has 32in tv & dvd player, is air-conditioned and has spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brougham Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing