We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brougham Heights Motel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great experience”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Attending a wedding in New Plymouth we found the the motel to be in a great location, very well equipped rooms with plenty of space and clean. I can concur with everyone else who has commented ,the cooked breakfasts were fantastic. All the staff we met were a credit to the motel owners.
Unfortunately I mislaid a camera card and didn't realise until I had returned to the UK, e-mails to and fro all answered but no trace of the card which was subsequently found elsewhere.
Absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Brougham Heights as the place to stay in New Plymouth.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew2357_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Hope u had a great time at your wedding. Have passed yr compliments along to the chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
40
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice rooms, I felt very comfortable and very safe there. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. Staff at front desk were pleasant and extremely helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Erin

Thanks for your great review. I agree that Mo's breakfasts are fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfectly located for a city centre stay, easy walk into the centre, or the Coastal Walkway.

Being right on the main one-way road through town there was a bit of traffic noise though.

The room was nice, and spacious, and the owners were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi Hayden

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Brougham Heights. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A very nice, clean, large room with all the convenience of a mini kitchen and modern appliances. Sooooper clean-very important to me!! right in the middle of town with a grocery store three blocks away. No gym but an amazing running track right along the coast-you can run for ages!!
very convenient for a business trip.

Room Tip: the rooms on the corners are very close to the road and the motel is on a busy corner so go for a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your awesome review. Our closeness to the city and foreshore is a huge asset for us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great stay in a very immaculate spacious motel for 4 ladies / definetly go back again! Location was excellent - was wheelchair friendly - maybe a handrail in toilet & shower area would be the only thing missing. But great otherwise.

Wanganui Ladies

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks ladies for your reivew. We always value constructive feeback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Mo and Deb run a really good motel! The rooms are always clean, tidy and well presented and being Central City is very handy to restaurants, bars, shops etc., and Mo cooks a mean brekky! I was there 9 Feb and Mo & Deb were on a well earned vacation at the beach! The young woman who was running the place was very personable, cooked amean brekky and I'm sure ran the place to mo's satisfaction!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks Al. Always good to know that our minders keep up our standards. Mo trained her well on the breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We chose this place due to it's Bartercard connection so for me it was great value. You couldn't get any closer to the best that New Plymouth has to offer. Restaurants abound nearby, the water front is just a couple of blocks away. The world class Pukekura Park not far away either. Central city city shopping on the doorstep, so big score for location. The unit was large and - by motel standards - stylishly outfitted with some pretty classy amenities. It was as clean as you could hope for. Big score for that. But, the sleep was not as good as one would hope or expect. We stayed 3 nights and two nights were disturbed at very late hour by other guests enjoying the summer weather on the balcony and what to them were some very funny jokes for at least two hours. I'm sure the managers would have heard it as well, but no one dared to ask them to quieten down. No score for late night management. And then there was the bed. What never ceases to amaze me is that some motel and hotel owners will spend a ton of money on non-essential bits and pieces to give the impression of class yet skimp to the bottom of the barrel when it comes to providing a decent bed. The bed in this unit was the most basic of inner sprung mattresses which sagged to the middle and certainly did not provide the kind of comfort one needs after a long tiring journey. Given the quality of new technology mattresses now available for very little outlay, it does not make economic sense to go cheap on the most important part of a motel stay.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and overall it's a great place to stay. I'm sure that noisy guests are not the norm so I would consider staying again. but I would prefer a place with better quality beds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebTawa, Owner at Brougham Heights Motel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for your review. I agree that the bed is the most important thing that we have in the motel as that is effectively what we are selling. We are always upgrading the beds so will take a serious look at the unit you were in get the bed upgraded.
Sometimes when guests make noise at night the management may not hear this as we do have a large complex, we will always act if we hear anything or if a guest lets us know there is a problem.
We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.0 mi away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Nice Hotel & Bistro
#14 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brougham Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brougham Heights Motel

Property: Brougham Heights Motel
Address: 54 Brougham Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brougham Heights Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brougham Heights Motel is centrally located within walking distance of the Foreshore Walkway, cafes and restaurants and Pukekura park. It is a four star plus property with units ranging from studio units to two berdoom family units. Every unit has 32in tv & dvd player, is air-conditioned and has spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Brougham Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing