We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Beach Motel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It wasn't exactly beach weather but the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed and the motel was quiet. Some distance from the main part of town but a short drive if you have a car. The sliding glass doors reduce the privacy however overall the rooms were of a high standard for motel style accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Excellent place to stay, it has a very good reputation. Its close to the new coastal walkway. Very close to shopping centre, and walking distance to the city and the beach. Rooms are very clean, well kept, great customer service

Room Tip: Stay for two nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we are glad we met your high standard. Look forward to seeing you agin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Wonderful location , helpful and pleasant management. Neat, clean and very tidy accommodation. We stayed for 4 nights and would do so again. Only problem struck was that their website states "WIFI initial complimentary 100mb per day , 5c per MB thereafter " was actually given only 100mb for the 4 days although they did give me a further 100mb.Website should be altered !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwavas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words it was lovely to see you and enjoy your stay with us. Our wifi issue has been addressed and fixed. We look forward to seeing you again in the Naki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent a week with our two kids at the Fitzroy Beach Motel and were very happy with the room which was one of the two bedroom units. The unit was very clean and modern for an older facility and everything we needed was there and in perfect working order. Spa bath was a nice treat as well. The staff were all fantastic especially Dianne who made sure we were well looked after. Certainly have no problems in recommending the Fitzroy Beach Motel if you are looking for somewhere comfortable just outside the city of New Plymouth. Also been close to the beach and walkway and local shops is a great advantage as well.

Room Tip: There are a couple of two bedroom suits which are ideal if travelling with the little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_Saywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi Guys thank you for the great review we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We turned on the weather for you and was great to see you out and about on our lovely coastal walkway too. We certainly look foward to seeing you again next year. Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My Wife and I stayed for two nights recently and were very please that we chose Fitzroy Beach Motel as our accomodation. The unit was very clean, and had every thing that we wanted. It was handy to the Fitzroy Shopping Centre, beach and walkway. We certainly would recommend this Motel to any one wanting a high standard of accomodation. Thanks to the mangement for enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Phone in advance to book, as think full both nights we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A great motel, great location, very modern and clean. The Hosts were very welcoming and warm. Very glad we stayed there and would stay again and also recommend this motel to others if visiting New Plymouth. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

this is a clean/modern/lovely property that is easy walking distance to a pretty beach that faces west for nice sunset potential. it is also a quick drive to the local restaurants. we ate dinner at bella vita on devon street east... it seemed to be open later than other places.
all in all, we enjoyed our stay there very much. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Beach Motel

Address: 25 Beach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Beach Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzroy Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing