We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, the staff went out of their way for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Beach Motel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We came to New Plymouth for a tangi, some of our whānau were coming from Auckland, we came from Wellington. Both families couldn't get there till after 9pm. I rang to inform them we were arriving later than expected, not only were they fine with that, they had the room ready with the heatpump on& milk in the fridge! We will DEFINITELY be staying there again & reccomending to anyone just how wonderful they were. Lisa: )

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarj1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review, I am glad we made you feel at home when you arrived to a nice warm room on our cold winters evening. We really hope you can come back and stay with us again in the future. Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in the 1 Bedroom motel unit. The room was clean, modern and spacious with a separate lounge area. The kitchenette was modern with a stovetop. The motel is a few metres from the beach and the beautiful Coastal Walkway which is suitable for walking or running. The area is nice and quiet. Great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for our motel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of the beautiful coastal walkway. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Perfect location for ease of access in and out of New Plymouth and surrounding area. In town for 3 days on business and really noticed the traffic issues in New Plymouth due to poor road planning. This motel located in Fitzroy was a way more convenient location than the down town options. Also nice breakfast options provided. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaBellaKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitzroybeachmotel, Manager at Fitzroy Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for our motel. Yes we are very lucky to be situated on a very quiet street just off the main CBD of New Plymouth. Yes at times the traffic can be very busy on our main route into New Plymouth however we have just heard work will start at the end of this year to rectify our traffic congestion at the northern end of New Plymouth. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit New Plymouth. Regards Dianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a new or refurbished motel. It is a couple of hundred yards to the beach. It is maybe 1 1/2 miles to a grocery store in New Plymouth. The kitchen area has 2 cooktop electric burners, microwave, and refrigerator. They give you a fairly liberal allowance for Wi-Fi, but we used it up by using the internet for more than an hour per day. It costs $2 to use the washer and $2 for the dryer; they only have one of each so they may not be available. We were awakened early in the morning by a garbage truck or some other type of noisy truck.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The location of this motel is ideal for Fitzroy beach but it is almost 2 miles from the centre of New Plymouth. If you do not want to drive then the Coastal Walkway provides a pleasant way to get into town or a taxi costs about NZD 13.

We had a Deluxe One Bedroom Unit which consisted of a reasonable size bedroom and large living areas and bathroom. In general it was well equipped and furnished and unusually there was a full size oven (as well as microwave and hob). In the bedroom there was a large wardrobe but only two small bedside units for other clothes etc. The shower was above the bath with a shower curtain.

The only outside space was looking into the carpark and the views from all our windows were either the car park or fences.

For the price we thought this was very good value.

If one reason you are visiting New Plymouth is to go to art galleries be warned that the (reportedly excellent) Govett-Brewster Gallery is closed for rebuilding until some time in 2015 and the Real Tart Gallery is closed on Mondays.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

An excellent place to stay, five minutes' walk from the beach and five minutes by car from town. We had a one-bedroom suite with very comfortable lounge/kitchenette. The kitchenette had hotplates, microwave and kettle as well as sufficient cutlery, crockery and pans. You would think twice about trying to do any extensive cooking, but everything needed for preparing simple snacks or for eating and heating takeaways was available. Excellent quality of consumables supplied - tea, coffee, milk, etc. - and spotless rooms.
Very friendly and obliging owners/managers, and a bonus was the availability of quite reasonable, geared bicycles, free of charge, which we used for exploring the waterside walk/bikeway. The only minor criticisms I have relate to the design of the suite we were in, which had a bathroom with a curtained shower in the centre, ensuring that the whole bathroom floor became wet after a shower. This was a minor blot on an otherwise highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbanePassionfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great stay - very good location close (walking distance) to the surf beach. Staff were super helpful and rooms were clean and tidy. The beach side walkway was less than 10 minutes walk away and you can head north or south daily for a great hike.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Beach Motel

Address: 25 Beach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Beach Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzroy Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing