We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Fitzroy Beach Motel(New Plymouth)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrington Motel(New Plymouth)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pukekura Motor Lodge(New Plymouth)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Plymouth International(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Abode on Courtenay(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One Burgess Hill(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Motel(New Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
88
76
16
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
76
16
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffamenities blockport areagreat campingpowered siteensuite cabincharging phonesself contained cabingreat views out to seagreat reception staffwatching the sungreat siteclean facilitiesshared facilitiesbeautiful walkwonderful holidaycamping ground
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Belt Rd is a fantastic place to stay the location for those who like a bit of privacy is perfect... the views of the sea are so lovely, we stayed here just as the bad weather before Easter weekend 2014 began, it was an experience that's for sure. We arrived and the weather was great, fine sunny etc... then overnight it turned for the worst... very windy, rainy and cold all adding to the experience!
The only thing was the toilets really do need an upgrade and the showers have limited hot water.
It kind of felt that the toilets were not clean although I am sure that they are it's just very aged, quite dark and dingy looking and not very private. kitchen nothing supplied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6jjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks for your response and your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to write. You will be pleased to know that most of your comments have been included in our upgrade plans for this year, and we are in the process of building a new ablution block which will address most of your concerns. The weather, however, is beyond our control, but I am pleased you had a nice fine day as well as part of the mix. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you another time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We tucked into this convenient holiday park just as Cyclone Lusi was bearing down. We loved the location (right above the fabulous 14km Coastal Walkway) and very handy to the Aquatic Centre and downtown. Service was very friendly and helpful, and our site had million dollar views over Breakwater Bay, with nice spacing between sites. Communal facilites kept tidy, and on site internet was handy. We hired bikes ($5/hr or $20/day - great price) for a great afternoon on the coastal walkway (stop at Paris Plage, if it is open); but if you have kids, be warned they only had adult bikes in March 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helloglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks for your response - we do appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our Coastal Walkway - it is something we enjoy often too. Children's bikes will be added to our business plan, so watch this space. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After hearing good reviews and being recommended I had high expectations from Belt Road. I was sad to find out that there was a kitchen with absolutely no pots/pans/cutlery whatsoever. I had really wished someone would have mentioned that upon booking! We only had food with us and luckily there was a gentleman there who gave us a pot to use. Otherwise, we would not have been able to cook that night. I have done quite a bit of travelling around NZ and never encountered something like that! The showers the next morning were another issue. On the outside there was a sign that stated hot showers for 5 min. I began to take a shower and was unpleasantly surprised when after a short 2-3 min the water went ice cold! There was even a women in there at that time who agreed it was definitely NOT 5 minutes. I had to get out of the shower, and outside the room to press the button again, only to have it go cold again after about 3 minutes. Totally unacceptable. I was not expecting anything fabulous, after all it was only a campsite we were using but those two inconveniences did not give my family and I a nice start to our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadeem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hi Nadeem, Thank you for your feedback - they are certainly issues we will look into and rectify. We are in the process of upgrading these kitchen and shower areas, as they have been in council ownership for many years until recently.
We are always looking for ways to improve our service and facilities, so value your comments. I do hope that when you return, you will find these things have been improved.
Once again, thanks for taking the time to feedback to us.
Kind Regards, Teresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Facilities NEED updating. Trying to shower and dress with preschoolers was difficult. 2 showers with shared 1 bench made it a squeeze when others came into the tiny room. Painting showers dark Grey did not add to the cleanliness feel. And stating you have 2 and 3 yo may still get you a cliff edge site. Train does run very close to sites during the week. But, a wonderful view of the bay. I guess that's why they feel don't need much else.....

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are aware of the need to update some of our facilities - building work has commenced on a new ablution block which will ensure newer and larger facilities are available for our guests. We value your feedback and will use this to improve our offering to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The location of the park was good and we had booked the ensuite cabin overlooking the water. This provided a nice outlook. The cabin had all the basic equipment but was cramped because of the bunk beds. I wouldn't like to be in there as a couple with 2 children.
We used the barbeque one night and cooked in the kitchen another night. The kitchen surfaces and floor appeared clean enough, but there were lots of small dead flies on the window cills. There was no soap, towels, scourers or indeed anything to clean the surfaces. I felt that this was a major hygiene problem. The whole place looked tired and we paid a similar price for much better accommodation on our trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RosinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your stay. We have addressed and acted on the points that you raised. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews