We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Woodville, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Awesome views overlooking the sea and port area of New Plymouth. While our unit was quite small it was overlooking the sea and clean and tidy. I loved listening to the sea and watching the beautiful sunsets. The communal facilities were quite adequate. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Hi Joanne

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. We are very lucky to have the beautiful sea views, and our proximity to town, the walkway and other New Plymouth sights is an added bonus. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Belt Road Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    61
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
73
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I booked 4 nights in a 3 berth cabin with kitchenette for April and was beyond disappointed. My first impression of the cabin was how tiny it was! It was the size of a walk in wardrobe and the 'kitchenette' was a noisy little fridge with a kettle. The electricity went off numerous times which left the room with no lighting, no kettle and absolutely freezing. When the fridge actually worked it froze the milk solid! The wifi that i paid extra for also didnt work. The worst part was definitely the smell though - it smelt like dirty, mouldy feet. When I complained to the front office and told them I couldn't stay there due to the smell, the cold and the poor facilities, I was told that it always smelt that way because of 'trapped BO'. Literally, that is what I was told. I had to fight for a refund for my final night and still paid a cancellation fee. The girl at the desk was rude and I would never recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arow88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi there
Thanks for your response and I'm sorry it was not up to your expectations. We have refunded your cancellation fee and apologise for this. We have taken on board your comments and these will be discussed at management. We hope that you will return and see that improvements have been made.
Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback - we appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A great Holiday Park high above the coast. Some sites over looking the sea and the Port to the left. Great sunsets while we were there. Security Gate so no problems with general traffic. Amenities OK but due for a makeover, which I understand is underway.
We travelled with a Car & Caravan

Room Tip: Get a Seaview if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback - we do appreciate it. And yes the ablutions are getting a makeover, including a new block due to be opened in the next month or so. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. Enjoy caravanning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Belt Rd is a fantastic place to stay the location for those who like a bit of privacy is perfect... the views of the sea are so lovely, we stayed here just as the bad weather before Easter weekend 2014 began, it was an experience that's for sure. We arrived and the weather was great, fine sunny etc... then overnight it turned for the worst... very windy, rainy and cold all adding to the experience!
The only thing was the toilets really do need an upgrade and the showers have limited hot water.
It kind of felt that the toilets were not clean although I am sure that they are it's just very aged, quite dark and dingy looking and not very private. kitchen nothing supplied.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6jjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your response and your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to write. You will be pleased to know that most of your comments have been included in our upgrade plans for this year, and we are in the process of building a new ablution block which will address most of your concerns. The weather, however, is beyond our control, but I am pleased you had a nice fine day as well as part of the mix. Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you another time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We tucked into this convenient holiday park just as Cyclone Lusi was bearing down. We loved the location (right above the fabulous 14km Coastal Walkway) and very handy to the Aquatic Centre and downtown. Service was very friendly and helpful, and our site had million dollar views over Breakwater Bay, with nice spacing between sites. Communal facilites kept tidy, and on site internet was handy. We hired bikes ($5/hr or $20/day - great price) for a great afternoon on the coastal walkway (stop at Paris Plage, if it is open); but if you have kids, be warned they only had adult bikes in March 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaB8, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your response - we do appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our Coastal Walkway - it is something we enjoy often too. Children's bikes will be added to our business plan, so watch this space. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After hearing good reviews and being recommended I had high expectations from Belt Road. I was sad to find out that there was a kitchen with absolutely no pots/pans/cutlery whatsoever. I had really wished someone would have mentioned that upon booking! We only had food with us and luckily there was a gentleman there who gave us a pot to use. Otherwise, we would not have been able to cook that night. I have done quite a bit of travelling around NZ and never encountered something like that! The showers the next morning were another issue. On the outside there was a sign that stated hot showers for 5 min. I began to take a shower and was unpleasantly surprised when after a short 2-3 min the water went ice cold! There was even a women in there at that time who agreed it was definitely NOT 5 minutes. I had to get out of the shower, and outside the room to press the button again, only to have it go cold again after about 3 minutes. Totally unacceptable. I was not expecting anything fabulous, after all it was only a campsite we were using but those two inconveniences did not give my family and I a nice start to our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Owner at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Nadeem, Thank you for your feedback - they are certainly issues we will look into and rectify. We are in the process of upgrading these kitchen and shower areas, as they have been in council ownership for many years until recently.
We are always looking for ways to improve our service and facilities, so value your comments. I do hope that when you return, you will find these things have been improved.
Once again, thanks for taking the time to feedback to us.
Kind Regards, Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Facilities NEED updating. Trying to shower and dress with preschoolers was difficult. 2 showers with shared 1 bench made it a squeeze when others came into the tiny room. Painting showers dark Grey did not add to the cleanliness feel. And stating you have 2 and 3 yo may still get you a cliff edge site. Train does run very close to sites during the week. But, a wonderful view of the bay. I guess that's why they feel don't need much else.....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeltRdSeasideHP, Manager at Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are aware of the need to update some of our facilities - building work has commenced on a new ablution block which will ensure newer and larger facilities are available for our guests. We value your feedback and will use this to improve our offering to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.8 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park

Property: Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
Address: 2 Belt Road, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing