We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Landmark Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Manor Motel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We were lead here by previous trip advisor reviews and this establishment did not disappoint. Friendly, wonderful staff, nice rooms and very reasonable price. Would recommend this motel, the spa room was particularly nice after all the hiking we did! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenolan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for takling the time to write a review for us, and such a nice one.
Pleased you liked the room and enjoyed the Sap Bath.
Thanks for the recommendation.
Look forward to hosting you both again should you visit NZ and New Plymouth again and hope you enjoyed the reat of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    48
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
69
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at Landmark Manor for two nights this week for work. Overall a lovely place. Super friendly, extra nice staff. Really nice service - I've never stayed anywhere, ever, where they turn on the heated towel rail for you before you arrive (lovely to have a nice warm towel after a shower and the 5 hour drive from Auckland).
Bed was comfy (although would have loved a fluffier pillow - had 4 but all quite thin/flat), everything clean. Convenient to Pack n Sav and Countdown (across the street). Although a good 10 min walk from the waterfront/walking trail.
My only isse was it was a bit noisy (road noise). Is right on one of the main roads, so trucks started going by about 6am.
Would consider staying here again, but also may look for something a bit closer to the waterfront and a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms don't have spa bath - only shower. Nice strong shower, but no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for completing a review for Landamrk Manor Motel.
Sorry to hear you found it a bit noisy, and that the pillows were to flat. We do have new pillows on order, however as you may have guessed because of the Super King size beds, we also need extra long pillows and awaiting order to arrive in New Zealand.
Yes upstairs units do only have showers, there are some units on ground floor with Spa Baths

On the bright only to pleased to have the heated towel rail on, and pleased we found the service good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Seeing we didn't have a car, our son who once attended NPBH School suggested we stay at Landmark Manor as it was handy to shops, restaurants etc. Boy was he right, it was so convenient with Pak n Save & Countdown just across the road! We got to do all the touristy things by foot - Pukekura Park, Brooklands Zoo, Puke Ariki Museum, Aquatic Centre as well stroll along the Coastal Walkway.
Would definitely recommend Landmark Manor to others. Spotlessly clean and very tidy.
Loved the warm muffins on arrival! :) Thank you Rex & Marina for making our stay an enjoyable one.
Kia Manuia. R & A Rongo. Rarotonga, Cook Islands.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review, and thank your son for the recommendation.
Really pleased that you both enjoyed not only you time at Landmakr Manor Motel, but also your time in New Plymouth and we have just been voted "Best Tourism Destination" in New Zealand, and as you know there was plently of great things to do.
Yes maybe one day soon we will both make it over to Rarotonga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I decided to book our group of golfers based on the reviews here and we all agreed that I made the right decision. I booked 7 rooms two months in advance and had several changes in our booking up to the week of our arrival. Rex was very patient and accommodating with all these changes. We were all impressed the moment we checked in with the welcome freshly baked muffin. Rooms were very clean, beds were firm. Bathrooms were spotless with fresh towels and even had an air freshener! We requested for a 6:30am cooked breakfast, an hour earlier than their regular service, which was promptly served. One of our members was a former hotelier and he described it as a motel with hotel room facilities. We highly recommend this motel specially if you're a group. Thank you Rex and Marina for making our stay very pleasant. We won our golf match by the way!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Jay,

It was very enjoyable hosting your group, all very nice freindly people.
It is all part of the service being able to change a booking when required, looking after the guests and then greeting you all with a smile.
Please the muffins went down a treat.
No problem cooking the breakfast early, once again part of our service.
Look forward to hosting either you all again as a group or should any of you visit New Plymouth on your own we would love to host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our friends in New Zealand booked our accommodation as for us as we were travelling with them to stay in New Plymouth at the Landmark Manor. We had a great stay and found the motel to be very clean and well serviced. The location was also very good and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend to anyone and would stay again if in the area.

P & D Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2trekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Manager at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review.
We are pleased that you found Landmark Manor to be of your liking. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ holiday and look forward to hosting you both again should you revisit New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After much comparing, I elected this establishment based on options, reviews and price. In every case, my expectations were met and exceeded! The proprietors were extremely observant and ready to help at a moment's notice, yet did not intrude in any way. I was on business and needed everything (including the free internet) to be reliable and ever-ready. I was completely satisfied and would stay again without hesitation. Little touches like Gladwrap, scissors, good sized mirrors in and out of bathroom really can make a difference in a busy day!

Room Tip: On the main road, and although the sound proofing is very good, to if you are sensitive to traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, always a pleasure to read.

Very pleased that it is the little things like the glad wrap that was noticed as we try to add those little extras that are needed now again.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to New Plymouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This motel was a great overnight stay for us on our NZ travels.
It was very clean, very comfortable, and also very well equipped.
Fantastic location and a short walk to heaps of shops and restaurants.
Owners were helpful and very proffesional, a very well run motel.
TOP MARKS to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 357kizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for Landmakr Manor Motel. Great the location was ideal for you and that the motel was clean and comfortable.

Great that you found Marina and I to be helpful, it is all about customer service, treat one how one likes to be treated.

Hope the rest of your time is NZ was wonderful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Manor Motel

Property: Landmark Manor Motel
Address: 72 Leach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located & close to CBD, supermarkets, cafes/restaurants, coastal walkway and all major attractions. Our decor is modern; all suites include a chaise lounge and super king beds to ensure comfort, rest and relaxation. All units have air conditioning/heat pumps, double glazed windows, 32" LCD TVs and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Landmark Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing