We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 1st ugly bit of NZ”

Landmark Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landmark Manor Motel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“The 1st ugly bit of NZ”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I was horrified when we first arrived. The motel is on an ugly business road surrounded by 3 supermarkets and car showrooms. It feels like a us strip mall in the Midwest. After 6 weeks touring NZ I had finally seen ugliness. The motel isn't a pretty sight either looking like a down at heel public housing estate. The room was very small for a motel, the beds were very soft and there wasn't even a bar of soap provided. And the room was full of mosquitoes (because the cleaners leave the doors open when they clean). After a beautiful motel in Taupo for less money we were depressed as we stayed 5 nights here because of WOMAD. I should add the owners were on holiday and the acting person in charge didn't seem terribly clued in. I am not sure what chemicals were used cleaning but during my time there I developed a really bad dose of rhinitis and a seriously painful throat.
To be fair there were some good things: we were given 2 sachets of plunger coffee each day; the internet for one device only was unlimited and the shower was excellent. And we did discover we were very close to the park for womad and to the centre of town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for doing a review for Landmark Manor Motel.
Must say the heading is certainly different never heard it called ugly before, buy I guess each tio their own.

Before I went away ther was 2 supermarkets, came back still two, not sure where thew third one came from and went to. If fact because we are so close to TWO supermarkets is a great selling point..

Sorry the beds were to soft for you, but if it is very hard to get a bed that suits everyone, some guests like hard beds, others soft.

Soap, we have liquid soap at handbasin and shower gel in shower, however if you wanted a bar of soap all you had to do was asked and you would have had some put in your unit.

As for the mosquitoes, they could have came into the room while you were unloading your car, so leaving open on a hot day was the right thing to do in our mind, and you would have noticed that there is fly spray in the room had you looked.

The main chemicals used on a service is a citrus (orange based), so very suprised if that was the cause for you sore throat.

Must say it was please that you did found a couple of things that you were pleased about, however the internet can connect to more then one device, had you tried.

As for saying the minders were clueless that is very hard to say, we get very good reports from both our regular guests and from others, so maybe it was a caase of someone being very hard to please.

Notice you didn't mention about how they went out of their way to do things for you like, changing your bedding from a super king to twin share thet following day as you wish to have separate beds, how they informed you where the local doctors was etc.

One last thing, when making the booking you would have seen the photos of the motel, I must ask if it looked so ugly why did you book?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    47
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
67
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Otorohanga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We also stayed here for Americarna. Great location for the event and within walking distance to town. Proprietors were pleasant and obliging - service was good. Room was great apart from the mosquitos on the first night. It was a bit up there in pricing - but as has been said it was a peak time for them. It was clean and tidy and the room was nicely presented. I would recommend others to stay here. Muffins on check-in was a nice touch. Well done. P.S. Sorry about exhaust marks on the wall. We will be aware for next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 648Raewyn55_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi and many thanks for writing a review for Landmark Manor Motel.
First off sorry about the mosquitos on the first night.
Great that you found the room clean and to your liking and well presented.

Thank you for also the recommendation for others to stay.

The exhaust marks were far easier to clean then some off the oil stains we found.

Take care and look forward to hosting you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Americana. I thought it was a bit pricey for the facilities but it was a peak weekend. It was very clean, quiet and within easy walking distance to town. Two supermarkets close by which was handy.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandrafromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. Please that the location suited amd trust that you enjoyed your time at Americana.
Just to let you know Landmark Manor has just won the 2014 "Trip Advisor Award" for Baragin Motelin New Plymouth, this on top of the 2013 "Best Service Award".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The motel is in a great central location, easy walk into town, was great not having to drive also very handy having supermarket just across the road. Clean and tidy room, friendly hosts. We enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again if we ever go to back to New Plymouth

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review about Landmark Manor Motel.
Very pleased our motel suited your needs, and yes please to visit New Plymouth again as we have just been voted "Best Tourism Destination" in New Zealand.
We would certainly love to host you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We were lead here by previous trip advisor reviews and this establishment did not disappoint. Friendly, wonderful staff, nice rooms and very reasonable price. Would recommend this motel, the spa room was particularly nice after all the hiking we did! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenolan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for takling the time to write a review for us, and such a nice one.
Pleased you liked the room and enjoyed the Sap Bath.
Thanks for the recommendation.
Look forward to hosting you both again should you visit NZ and New Plymouth again and hope you enjoyed the reat of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed at Landmark Manor for two nights this week for work. Overall a lovely place. Super friendly, extra nice staff. Really nice service - I've never stayed anywhere, ever, where they turn on the heated towel rail for you before you arrive (lovely to have a nice warm towel after a shower and the 5 hour drive from Auckland).
Bed was comfy (although would have loved a fluffier pillow - had 4 but all quite thin/flat), everything clean. Convenient to Pack n Sav and Countdown (across the street). Although a good 10 min walk from the waterfront/walking trail.
My only isse was it was a bit noisy (road noise). Is right on one of the main roads, so trucks started going by about 6am.
Would consider staying here again, but also may look for something a bit closer to the waterfront and a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms don't have spa bath - only shower. Nice strong shower, but no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for completing a review for Landamrk Manor Motel.
Sorry to hear you found it a bit noisy, and that the pillows were to flat. We do have new pillows on order, however as you may have guessed because of the Super King size beds, we also need extra long pillows and awaiting order to arrive in New Zealand.
Yes upstairs units do only have showers, there are some units on ground floor with Spa Baths

On the bright only to pleased to have the heated towel rail on, and pleased we found the service good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Seeing we didn't have a car, our son who once attended NPBH School suggested we stay at Landmark Manor as it was handy to shops, restaurants etc. Boy was he right, it was so convenient with Pak n Save & Countdown just across the road! We got to do all the touristy things by foot - Pukekura Park, Brooklands Zoo, Puke Ariki Museum, Aquatic Centre as well stroll along the Coastal Walkway.
Would definitely recommend Landmark Manor to others. Spotlessly clean and very tidy.
Loved the warm muffins on arrival! :) Thank you Rex & Marina for making our stay an enjoyable one.
Kia Manuia. R & A Rongo. Rarotonga, Cook Islands.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rex W, Owner at Landmark Manor Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review, and thank your son for the recommendation.
Really pleased that you both enjoyed not only you time at Landmakr Manor Motel, but also your time in New Plymouth and we have just been voted "Best Tourism Destination" in New Zealand, and as you know there was plently of great things to do.
Yes maybe one day soon we will both make it over to Rarotonga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Manor Motel

Property: Landmark Manor Motel
Address: 72 Leach Street, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Manor Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located & close to CBD, supermarkets, cafes/restaurants, coastal walkway and all major attractions. Our decor is modern; all suites include a chaise lounge and super king beds to ensure comfort, rest and relaxation. All units have air conditioning/heat pumps, double glazed windows, 32" LCD TVs and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Landmark Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing