We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Flame

Flame
Ranked #50 of 165 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Inspired by the heritage dishes of India and Punjab, Flame is a window into the ancient culinary world of the North West of Southern Asia; a jewel in the heart of New Plymouth’s CBD. Our enticing menu selection features entrees, curries, banquets and desserts; all delivering a tantalising taste of the East infused with Flame’s fresh, modern, flavour twist. Fancy a light snack and a Lassi? Feel like curry with a freshly-baked naan bread (our spinach and cheese is incredible)? Or want to take full advantage of our Gourmet or Family Banquet? Take your pick and remember not to leave town without also trying Flame’s “Good Times” Sizzling Platter… It’s legendary! So, whatever your appetite, mood or fancy join us for an unforgettable dining experience and your very own delicious, twisty, Flame-infused memory of New Plymouth to take with you.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Flame doesn't sound like Indian Restaurant and until we saw the menu it was apparent that yes its an indian restaurant. Totally amazed with the cheap dinner deal and cocktails however I didn't like the presentation of the food. The curry was dripping out from the dish, it was overfilled and when the waitress put on the table it was bit messed. Curry was really tasty though. Little concern on hygiene would be better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank worldsumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
728 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great value even in meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my meal. Staff and customer service was excellent. I tried the $10 evening meal. Great range of food. Meal was slow coming. Staff provided us a wee snack till meal arrived. I'll be back again. I love the decor in the restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“creamy”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Never have I had so much cream in a curry that isn't mean't to have cream in. They forgot to bring our starters and then told us that the mains would make up for it, they didn't! The only good thing about the food was the roti which were very nice and the lady who served us was lovely. Will not go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazzleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We ate here for two nights using the $12 Sunday to Wednesday special menu. We ate four different dishes and each was delicious. Portion size was still fine for us (we're not big eaters) and we supplemented with a delicious garlic and seame naan the second night. Also tried the mango and banana lassies which were both great. Recommended for food, value and service. The staff genuinely wanted to know how we found the food and we felt that if we had had any negative feedback, they would have taken it on board. Recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sparkythekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classy looking restaurant”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This restaurant looks very impressive - it is very modern and classy. The service was excellent, very prompt and extremely courteous. I have to say, I was let down a bit by the food as far as Indian cuisine goes, the food lacked flavor and there was no heat at all. I like my food mild to medium but tasted no heat whatsoever and pity if you like your curries very hot. The specials on are good though - great cocktails and desserts.
Please Flame - whack some spice up your food and I'd be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerieeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flame also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing