We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and restful”
Review of Ratanui Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratanui Villas
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quiet and restful”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our recent 2-night stay was quiet and restful, with the villas situated past suburbia and just into the countryside, yet only a 6 minute drive into town. The villas are new, very clean and a little bit basic but definitely good value for money. The shower was great, lots of hot water and plenty of power, and the toiletries were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable ! We stayed in villa 4 and as a suggestion to the owners, we felt it needed some artwork on the wall in the bedroom ~ there were two paintings in the living area but none in the bedroom and it was a little stark. Also a vegetable peeler and grater in the kitchen, an extractor fan in the bathroom, and a cable tidy for the TV !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My Partner and I stayed in one of the one bedroom studios. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who gave us some freshly layed eggs and milk. The room was perfect for us as we were on a budget, it wasn't flash but it was nice and clean. I loved the additional touches to the room, flat screen tv and soaps and hair shampoos even makeup remover! It was a little drive out of town but well worth it as you have an amazing view of mountain and tranquil setting around you. Definetly would reccommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connie_evansnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We booked this sight unseen and turned up to find it 10 mins out of town in a perfect tranquil location. Superb newly refurbished exec suites. One problem - with the shower as someone else mentioned, it went inexplicably cold after 30 secs - but I'm assured it's only in ex suite number 6 and they're fixing it. Great hosts who posted back to us something we left behind in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulfitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in the executive suites and they have been renovated recently. They have done a nice job here but we experienced a couple of problems which marred our stay. Firstly there were problems with taking a shower. We would get hot water and within 30 secs it would go cold. In addition the window in the bathroom allowed a steady draft (which because of the cold southerly) which was very off putting in combination with the shower problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemanakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My partner and I stayed there last year for about 5 nights. It is a perfect spot for somebody who is looking for piece and tranquility. Nice and clean, the hostess was friendly.
The only (small!) disadvantage was the absence of shelving in the shower, and actually the shower itself - it was a bit hard to set the right temperature. However, it didn't affect the overall impression.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuliaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed recently in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights at Ratanui Villas. The accommodation was perfect in every way - clean, modern, quiet with beautiful grounds. We checked in 2 hours early and it was not a problem at all. We would recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotus999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We have just returned from 5 nights in the 3 bedroom cottage with teenagers and grandparents, and 12 for Xmas lunch- the accommodation met all expectations. Comfy beds, quiet and tranquil yet close to city when needed. Good beds and shower, kitchen which coped admirably. We recommend Ratanui, and Dianne and Stefan as hosts to anyone desiring a getaway with a rural feel, safe for children to have some freedom.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
3.4 mi away
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
#7 of 30 in New Plymouth
186 reviews
3.3 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Villas

Property: Ratanui Villas
Address: 538 Carrington Road, New Plymouth 4371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ratanui Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratanui Villas offers it clients serene and tranquil accommodation. We are set in 8.5 acres of 'park-like' grounds and only 6 minutes drive to the New Plymouth city centre. Ratanui offers a range of accommodation from 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, studios and a 3 bdrm cottage. Units, except studios, have recently been refurbished and are stylish and contemporary. All have king beds, brand new kitchens and bathrooms. We are pet friendly and there is plenty of safe off street parking. A fabulous place to relax and unwind, with great views on Mt Taranaki. We really are New Plymouth's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ratanui Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing