We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation Plus!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 16 Havelock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
16 Havelock
Ranked #6 of 24 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation Plus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Brad and Fujiko are the most accommodating hosts we have ever met. They both created an ambience of peace and serenity and looked after us so well we didn't want to leave!
The house has a lovely interior, with eye catching detail and complete cleanliness. Our bed was heaven! We only got out once we could smell our breakfast wafting down the hallway.
We will most definitely be staying in their lovely home in the near future.
Thank you Brad and Fujiko for making our stay in New Plymouth relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTWILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I booked online and arrived late not really knowing what to expect, but desperately needing a bed. I was warmly met by hosts Brad and Fujiko and shown around their beautiful property. Everything about this B&B says luxury - except for the price! I was then treated to a delicious, home-made Japanese dinner, for just $15 extra. It could have been straight from an expensive restaurant - it was so delicious. I cannot wait to try the breakfast tomorrow morning! My only regret is not being able to stay longer. I'll definitely be coming back next time I'm in New Plymouth. Thank you both :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed there a night on the way back to Wellington and we're really glad we did! Brad and Fujiko were excellent hosts, providing us with lots of ideas on places to go while in New Plymouth (we ended up seeing the Festival of Lights, which was great), and for a small sum, Fujiko cooked us a deliciously authentic Japanese meal. To cap things off, we were treated to the most spectacular sunset I've ever seen (no exaggeration) from their backyard. I even jumped the back fence and ran up the grassy hill, which gives you near panoramic views of the city and the majestic Mt. Taranaki (if it's not too cloudy).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Spent 3 nights here and Brad and Fujiko made me so welcome. This couple really enjoy having guests. I was made to feel right at home, and the fact that I could not work out how to use the remote for the TV in my room, was not a problem. The bed was super comfy with a feather overlay, and feather pillows. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was wonderful scrambled eggs, - I could not manage sausages - plus an array of fresh fruit and home made bread.
New Plymouth is not a big city, and everything is very handy. There are lovely views of the mountain and the sea from the lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

It was our first time in New Plymouth, a city without roundabout (?). We had a great time with Brad and Fujiko at 16 Havelock, a home with full of heart and love. My hubby and Brad found their favorite topic "Sweet Home" Yeah! I love Fujiko's home decor around the house and her homemade bread. Everything just perfectly made us feeling we were at our own home, clean, tidy, comfy...Although we didn't see the summit of Mt Egmont, we enjoyed the time in this City. Thank you so much to our host Brad & Fujiko :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Spent 2 nights in New Plymouth on our way around the country and completely lucked out in finding 16 Havelock! Brad and Fujiko were welcoming and friendly, and really made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious (don't miss Fujiko's homemade rice bread!), and for only $20 extra each we enjoyed an amazing homemade dinner - Fujiko was even able to make me a Japanese vegetarian feast! The bedding is gloriously comfortable, and the Japanese massage chair really took out the knots -- not to mention the gorgeous view of Mt. Taranaki right from the living room. If we ever find ourselves in New Plymouth again, we will definitely be back to 16 Havelock!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had a wonderful time at 16 Havelock. Our hosts, Brad and Fujiko, were engaging and so hospitable. The premises are clean; the bed we had was so comfy. We found the price for the room was well below othe B&Bs in the area.Breakfasts were very adequate. The Sushi feast prepared for us by Fujiko was beyond belief, and all for just $20NZD a head! The only thing we would have liked would have been a warmer room, but the fireplace and Brad and Fujiko's warmth more than made up for the chill. If we come back to New Plymouth, 16 Havelock will be our port of call.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pwrfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.7 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#8 of 24 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
Villa Heights Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 24 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#4 of 24 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Havelock

Property: 16 Havelock
Address: 16 Havelock Place, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Havelock 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer traditional Bed and Breakfast service.Each morning you will have a literal smorgasbord of seasonal breakfast foods to choose from, hot and cold, fresh and cooked.Our entire goal is to make your stay with us feel as much like home as possible. Whether your trip is a romantic getaway, a family adventure, a business venture, or just a visit, 16 Havelock Bed and Breakfast New Plymouth is your one-of-a-kind fully serviced accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 16 Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing