We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 299 on Devon West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
299 on Devon West Motel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Waikanae, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for two nights and it was great. very quiet and so clean. The pool was a bit cold. Easy parking and everything was in our room that we could need. They supplied a cot for our 8mo that saved us a lot of hassle. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad the portacot was helpful for you and sorry you found the pool to be cold :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Have stayed here before very comfortable. As we are travelling on motorcycles it suits us well as they are safe out of sight and right outside the room. Laundry facilities are good too. A little bit away from the centre of town for walking, but very quiet. Nice for the price

Room Tip: Swimming pool available. If you want to swim ask for a downstairs room that faces the pool then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
It was great to see you again and pleased that the off street parking and laundry was helpful for you. Hope the rest of your trip went well. Thanks for your wonderful review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here a night earlier this week. A very good motel by any standards. Impeccably kept - inside and out. Very tidy and very clean. Good fixtures and fittings. Everything worked well. Quiet and restful in the back rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room - the road noise might be louder in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for two nights with our three children. The motel was so clean! The cleanest place we stayed on our trip. The staff was really friendly and helpful. They gave us a bunch of great recommendations of things to do while we were in town. Great location, great people, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaming_with_my_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

quick weekend trip to see friends in new plymouth , didn't want to impose on there hospitality and wanted freedom to do as we liked , wish it had been a longer stay , lovely ,easy to get to and very close to our friends .definately stay there again , great hosts . comfy room with coffee and tea making facilities, we were on a motorcycle and there is good off street parking available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medeacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondevonwest, Owner at 299 on Devon West Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for doing a review for us and it is always great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at 299 motel. Look forward to seeing you another time :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

What a lovely place , so comfortable so clean such great hosts , and such a lot to see in this lovely city , from the beautiful sea, to Mt Taranaki, to Pukekura park and the Bowl'
thanks Gary and Lorna

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The motel is located about a 10 minute walk from the edge of the town centre.

The service offered by Gary & Lorna is very good and they make you feel at home. Our room was on the ground floor with a patio door at the rear of the room opening onto the garden area where the pool is located. On the patio is a table and two chairs.

The room is a good size and tastefully decorated. The bathroom contains a shower cubicle with a glass door. The room is equipped with a kitchenette.

We ordered the continental breakfast from the motel which was more than enough for our needs.

The motel has a guest laundry which is free to use but they do make a small charge for the tumble drier should you care to use it.

We would stay here again if in the area and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.3 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
#21 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 299 on Devon West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 299 on Devon West Motel

Property: 299 on Devon West Motel
Address: 299 Devon Street West, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 299 on Devon West Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Vision: to provide a homely experience that you will remember enjoy and want to have again as well as tell others about. Spacious self contained units with kitchen and bathroom with underfloor heating, heated towel rail, LCD TV, DVD, ceiling fan, WiFi/Broadband. Private courtyard with BBQ, outdoor swimming pool, swing ball and off street parking, covered outdoor clothes line. Close to City Centre, Coastal Walkway, Len Lye Art Centre, TSB ShowPlace, Govett Brewster Art Gallery, Yarrows Statium, Hospitals, Aquatic Centre and Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your 299 on Devon West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing