We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent location!”
Review of Salt Restaurant

Salt Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 165 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent location!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Service was good, would recommend that you book as alot of tables were reserved.
Food was good, I had mussels to start and chicken main, but not fantastic. The definate high point of this restuarant is the location and the views from it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, much appreciated.
I am sorry to hear the chicken was not up to your standards, there is no excuse for that at all.
On a positive note we are pleased you enjoyed our service ,location and views we have to offer.
Have a happy and safe christmas from us all here at Salt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    132
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“K&K FARMER”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Visited on 27/11/2013 with visitors from Auckland and was pleased to experience as good a meal as those in the Auckland CBD.
Service was attentive, friendly and polite. we were seated at a window seat with a great view of the wind wand and foreshore, which I would recommend although on a sunny day eating on the balcony would be seat of choice. I ate the fillet steak on ciabatta, my eating companions ate the salt & pepper calamari , and the seafood cakes. Salads were fresh and tasty. We all had dessert, chocolate & bailey torte, lemon pudding with ginger ice cream and apricot bread & butter croissant pudding and coffee, which was well made. Would recommend for a leisurely lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for the positive feeback. We are excitied you had such a good experience at Salt.
Yes we can do things just aswell, if not better than Aucklanders, LOL.
Have a happy and safe christmas break. Hope to host you again if you ever return to New Plymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National Park Village, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could want plus more”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great service, flawless food, amazing view and great wine list. We enjoyed it start to finish! A pleasurable experience, thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2winendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Fantastic feedback, thank you for choosing Salt for your meal.
We would love to host you again in the near future. Have a happy and safe christamas.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a view”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is part of the waterfront hotel - hence view is great especially on a good day where there is no rain.

Start off with drinks at the bar / lounge area before having dinner. One can choose to have their dinner at the lounge too enjoying comfort of plush sofas.

Food is good - always check for recommendations of the day. Had snapper based on that and it was sure a lovely meal. Desserts are a portion big for me so would advise to share if one is full from the main course. Had the lemon pie - was heavenly.

Service is tops here - with staff checking if all's good.

Definitely be back - especially when a good weather springs to enjoy the bonus view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superf0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience at Salt.
Have a safe and Happy christmas from us all here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't even get to a meal!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Phoned the restaurant and requested a booking for four for the evening but was given times of 5.30pm or 8.00pm as only available sittings for the night. Being unsuitable times, politely asked if they were definitely all that we could select from. The response from the "gentleman" was extremely abrupt and negative and left me with no options or wish to make a follow-up booking at this restaurant. I will not be attempting to book for myself and friends at this establishment again after such rudeness.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH1792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerie M, Manager at Salt Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Good morning Sir,

I am so sorry you had to experience such rudness on the phone when you called to make a booking. This is tottally unacceptable behavoiur and I will be following this up with the restaurant team. If there is anything we can do to get you into salt restaurant to have you experience the quality food and service we strive to deliver time and time again please contact us. Phone 067695301 and ask for Heather Cardon,She would love to hear from you. Once agian I am truely sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Salt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing