We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

When travelling you want a flawlessly clean room, comfortable bed and space to move. You want a spacious bathroom and shower and a functional kitchen as an option. The Dawson delivered on all of these. My partner had back surgery 2012 so a good supportive bed was a must. He slept well and commented on the quality of the bed. Service was 'top notch' and friendly. A great stay.

Room Tip: Twin room spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Hi Guys

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip advisor.
We really appreciate the feedback and pleased your partner found the bed good.
Hope the long trip home went well.

Regards
lloyd and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We Stayed one night. Service was great, very friendly. Room was very good, with everything required. Comfy bed! Location is easy walk to town centre and the coast walk. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovingbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thanks guys for writing a great review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get alot of good comments on the beds.
look forward to a return visit if you are ever back in New Plymouth.

Thanks

Lloyd and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Great service very friendly and welcoming
A great location right on the edge of CBD but nice and quiet
A new modern and clean motel
Highly recommended will definitely be back staying at The Dawson when in New Plymouth

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddmountfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi Todd
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Hope Sundays racing went well and we may see you back In New Plymouth.

Thanks
Lloyd and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very friendly welcome and the rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. No issues with anything.
No restaurant but plenty of places close by and charge back available at some, ample parking and close to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi John
Thanks for reviewing the dawson Motel.
Pleased you enjoy your stay and hoepfully we will see you on a return visit to New Plymouth.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Fantastic room, very well maintained property. Very spacious room, big & comfortable bed. Came back everyday to beautifully clean room. Lovely hosts, very friendly, provided lots of information & gave recommendation as to where to visit. Great location, minutes from coastal walkway. Bikes provided at motel a plus. We stayed here for three nights, will definitely recommend to friends & family. We will definitely be staying here again when we next visit New Plymouth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Hi carol

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson motel.
Sorry about the delay in replying I thought I had replies previously.
We really appreciated the bottle of wine and it was enjoyed with friends.
look forward to seeing you back in New Plymouth.

regards
barb and lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Awesome motel. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and freshened up every day. It looks brand new. The shower was fantastic, great pressure and nozzle. Large comfortable bed, microwave, fridge, jug, TV, DVD player, everything you need in a room. It's so easy to stay there, the staff are friendly and it's close to town but with no noise. Well recommended, I would stay again to take advantage of the bikes along the walkway. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbied4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thanks again Debbie for reviewing your stay with us at The Dawson Motel

Regards
Barb and lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A superb motel in an ideal location. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a spacious living area, comgortable furniture and a very well equipped kitchen. There was not a lot of natural light in the apartment but this was compensated by the very light walls and there were good lights in all living spaces.The bathroom was large, well lit and had a lovely deep bath with lashings of good hot water.
The spa unit in the bath was not working due to misuse by the last customer but we were given a reduction in price to allow for this. A good example of management dealing appropriately and cheerfully with a problem.
A big plus to this motel was the free loan of bicycles, enabling us to explore the nearby brilliant
coastal walkway. Wonderful!
Generally, a very well run motel with a friendly, helpfu and knowledgeable manager -to be recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Dawson and made use of the bikes.
Sorry about the spa bath but it is all back up and running now.
Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#9 of 30 in New Plymouth
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
343 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
181 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £84 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing