We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice experience”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A really nice experience”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The room we had was large, spotlessly clean and had nice modern fixtures. The bed was large and very comfortable. Ammenites provided were well above average. The location was excellent, close to all the restaurants & coffee shops etc, and only a short stroll to the lovely coastal walkways.
I accidently left my SD card with all my NZ photos on it in the room, but after a frantic call for help to Barb, it was found and posted to me in Auckland, arriving just 4 hours before we left the country - where else would you get that service? Thanks Barb !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteglen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson motel.
I am thrilled your card with all the photos arrived in time to catch you before you left.
It sounds as though you enjoyed your time with us and in New Zealand and really appreciate the 5/5 rating.


regards
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thank you for another great experience Barb!
We always enjoy your lovely modern rooms along with your warm hospitality. Your recommendations to dining out have always met what we're looking for.
Have a great Christmas.

Room Tip: We don't have a bath at home, so Barb always ensures my room has one when I stay :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks Rowena for taking the time to review us , 5/5 rating much appreciated.
we are pleased you have always enjoyed your stay's at The Dawson motel.
All the best for your next adventure In Australia.

Thanks
Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our way from Auckland to Dunedin, the Dawson was top of the list for everything, spotlessly clean, comfy beds, free filter coffee( perfect) also complimentary wifi. Very reasonably priced motel. We have family in New Plymouth and will certainly stay here again on our next visit to NZ!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 05gordonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks guys for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Pleased you enjoyed your time and rated us a 5/5.
Hope the rest of yoru stay in NZ went well and look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I thought my stay was really good, very clean and it was in a really good location. It has friendly owners and as I said it is very good location only a short walk from the CBD and the coastal walkway. All together I had a really good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Joseph
Appreciate your time reviewing your stay at The Dawson Motel.
Love the postive feedback and we pride ourselves on making sure eveything is clean adn inviting for guests.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I were very happy staying at .the Dawson Motel on a stormy trip south. Anne at reception was extremely helpful with ideas about 'things to see and do' around New Plymouth.
There was only a microwave in the kitchen for cooking, so recommend that future visitors go prepared. The fittings in the motel unit were of a high standard and a comfortable bed too.
Recommend this motel, close to the seashore and town central, easy to find, quiet, good parking, newly built and very pleasant. Warm with an efficient heat pump. Thank you!

Room Tip: Take food to use in a microwave as this is the only cooking facility. Downstairs room, #7 very acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
I have past on your positive feedback to Anne .
Pleased you enjoyed your time with us and you may come back sometime and experience new Plymouth with good weather.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've lived in a few other hotels & more expensive one before, but I have ended up only wanting to stay at the Dawson Motel since I tried it once. Reasons for choosing the Dawson Motel is:-

1. Very warm,helpful and friendly owners, makes you feel at home.
2. Very clean, tidy and new rooms.
3. Walking distance from the town. Easy to get food etc.
4. Free internet usage.
5. Very quiet rooms, even with people living next door.
6. Free bicycle and helmet usage
7. Free carpark
8. Very comfortable beds

Really, I can stay in the room all day and feel so at home. Thanks Barb and Lloyd for your most pleasant hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a double bed and a single bed inside with a bubble bath Jacuzzi in the toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanWong72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Alan
Thanks for taking the time to review us and appreciate the great feedback Alan.
Thrllled you are enjoying your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.

Cheers
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Was all great at the start, nice room and central location but the owners are very,very rude and I believe agest which is a problem with a lot of hotels these days with an old fashion mind about young people. They accused us of partying and causing mess that was already there! Refused to reason and made unreasonable threats. Not worth it for the attitude. Would defiantly not recommend and they have burned a lot of bridges by presuming that a couple of girls in their 20s (hard working and one a mother) who were naughty teenages!!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Coca7103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing