We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This motel as a great find and not what we were expecting. A lovely greeting from our host who recommended the evening concert in the park which was great. The room was clean, spacious and had the fluffiest towels! Great bath with power shower over, choice of milk for the fridge and lovely big bed. The bikes were a great touch the next morning too.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Traffic noise can't be avoided unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks guys for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Appreciate the great feedback on the bed and towels. We certainly get alot of feedback on our showers.
Hope you enjoyed your time in New Plymouth.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a regular traveller to New Plymouth, I always stay at the Dawson.
Great sized rooms, quiet location, great decor and real home from home.

Bathrooms are a great quality and with heat pumps in every room and decent sized TV, it's all the busy traveller needs.

Hosts are always happy to help, and make you feel welcome. Nice one Barb!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Richard
Thanks for your positive comments on your visits with us at The Dawson Motel. Appreciate the positive feedback, makes it all worth while.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Having been on a road trip around the North Island we had stayed in a number of motels. We chose this one initially as it was the only one we could find, we're glad we did. The generous sized room was the trendiest looking we had seen in New Zealand, it had been equipped to a very very high standard with a beautiful bathroom and shower.
We had a room with a sea view which added to our stay.
The motel is only a short walk from the centre of town and the beach
If you want a motel in New Plymouth choose this one!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Paul
Thanks for yor recent review of your stay with as at The Dawson Motel.
Thrilled that you rated us as the best you had stayed in in New Zealand.
Both Lloyd and I and our staff strive to give everyone a great experience and your comments make it all worth while.

regards
Barb and lloyd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We plunked down the $$ for a two bedroom kitchenette room and it was well worth the cost. Everything is new and clean, and all appliances worked well. Barb and Lloyd were great to work with and Barb surprised us with offering the hotel bikes for the beach board walk. We had a blast! If I'm ever back in New Plymouth this will be the place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 5 with view out one of the bedrooms with ocean. On the end so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeli5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks for review of your stay with us at The Dawson Motel.
Pleased you enjoyed the 2 bedroom unit, we certainly get alot of positiv feedback on these.
The bikes are great for a summers day on the walkway and they get a lot of use this time of year.

regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

As a corporate traveller for Felton Industries who has stayed in most of the motels and hotels in New Plymouth over the last 10 years I feel this motel is tremendous in every respect. Big rooms, top quality chattels including a huge comfortable bed and the house keeping standards are always 100%. The owners Barb and Lloyd are warm and friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble for them .I enjoy a great shower and I certainly get it here .I stay a few days every month and am always impressed by the consistency shown in service and presentation.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs rooms on the side which gives you a sew view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badboynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Willie
Thanks for the positive review you posted about The Dawson Motel. We love receiving good feedback . We appreicate your repeat business as well as the recommendation you give us to other travellers.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed for three nights and had a wonderful experience. The two bedroom unit was spacious, modern and very clean. Fantastic owners. Great central location and the use of the free bicycles added much pleasure to our stay. The full breakfast was superb. We would definitely come back and stay again if we needed accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the water and being a corner suite it had lots of natural daylight and good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks for your posting a review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.We are pleased your enjoyed your time with us and the use of the free bikes.
Really appreciate the 5/5.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

stayed here for 2 nights 3rd & 4th of Jan.2014...on a one bedroom suit... room was emmaculate, bed and bedding was excellent..host LLoyd and Barb were fantastic..walking distance to town,restaurants and attractions..Highly recommended to anyone who wants to stay on a friendly, clean hassle free motel.We certainly stay here again..

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan and Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Bryan and Grace. Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.
Appreciate the positive feedback you made on our motel and ourselves.
Look forward to your return visit to New Plymouth.

Thanks
Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing