We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A modern and scrupulously clean, comfortable motel. The standard of housekeeping here would put many hospitals to shame! Convenient for access to coastal walkway and downtown area, with choice of restaurants, etc. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Guys
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Pleased you enjoyed your stay amd have passed on your compliments regarding the housekeeping to the staff.

Thank you

regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great little family two story motel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, little kitchenette and nice laundry. We did up all our clothes and didn't have to worry about having lots of change, the machines and soap were just added to our bill. Convenient to a market on the one way headed north and gas station right in the market parking lot. Warning, if you're headed over to Napier from here, the main road that goes most direct looks like a highway, but has about 17 km of gravel which may not fit your rental car contract. We'd stay in this motel again, it was a great value!

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room and avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Guys
Appreciate the great feedback you posted about your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Great to get rated the three "c" close convenient and comfortable.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here last night - what a beautiful motel! Good value, spacious room, beaut TV, AC etc, spunky decor, real handy - easy walkable to restaurants, cafés, bars, shops, and the best shower I've ever tried!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Guys
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get a lot of positive feedback on our showers and pleased you thought it was the best you had tried.

Reagrds
barb and lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

All round excellence. Great location - close to main shopping area / CBD, coastal walk & Puke Ariki.
Modern spacious well appointed spotlessly clean quite units with very comfortable beds. We had Unit 16 which was upstairs with a sea view. Friendly helpful hosts / owners - told us about "Fresha" an excellent cafe / delicatessen nearby. Suggest you book well ahead as was fully booked for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Jim
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Thrilled you enjoyed your time with us here in New Plymouth and that my recommendations were good.
We pride ourselves on our cleanless, appreicate the feedback ,thanks a heap.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

All very nice.
Lovely modern room with every comfort.
Owner was lovely & apologised in advance for Wi-Fi problems which were no worse than many places.
Everything worked & we walked home safely from our town centre restaurant.
Good value. Very nice

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hi Albert
Thanks for your review on your stay with us at The Dawson Motel. Always good to get good feedback. great that we are central to CBD and this allows you to walk into town for a meal and drink.

Regards
barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This motel as a great find and not what we were expecting. A lovely greeting from our host who recommended the evening concert in the park which was great. The room was clean, spacious and had the fluffiest towels! Great bath with power shower over, choice of milk for the fridge and lovely big bed. The bikes were a great touch the next morning too.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Traffic noise can't be avoided unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thanks guys for reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Appreciate the great feedback on the bed and towels. We certainly get alot of feedback on our showers.
Hope you enjoyed your time in New Plymouth.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a regular traveller to New Plymouth, I always stay at the Dawson.
Great sized rooms, quiet location, great decor and real home from home.

Bathrooms are a great quality and with heat pumps in every room and decent sized TV, it's all the busy traveller needs.

Hosts are always happy to help, and make you feel welcome. Nice one Barb!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Hi Richard
Thanks for your positive comments on your visits with us at The Dawson Motel. Appreciate the positive feedback, makes it all worth while.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £83 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing