We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hi stayed here for 4 nights while in town for work, and it was a great place to stay. It is relatively new, and cleaned to a very high standard, the beds are very comfortable, large bathroom, small kitchenette with microwave, which i find important. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the shops, and about 1 minute to the walkway which runs along the seaside. There are plenty of restaurants within waking distance.The staff there are great and helpfull without being overdoing it.

they have breakfast available which i did not have, but is an excellent idea, cooked as well.

Rooms have air conditioning, and on the last night i read that we can use the womans gym across the road and be charged back, wish i had know that beforehand, what a great idea.

free internet which is very important, and it was fast and constant, never dropped out during the 4 nights i stayed there.
Is a tiny bit noisy with traffic noise, but really great double glazing keeps this down.
Towels are beautiful and fluffy. I am normally a very picky traveller, but this place was excellent and ticked all my important boxes, and I will definatly be staying again.

Room Tip: the rooms all looked the same to me, I was in room 18 and you do get a view of the sea from the kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi
Really appreciate the time and effort you gave on reviewing your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Great to get positive feedback on the 4 days you had with us this week.
I will pass on your feedback to the staff who pride themselves on keeping our motel clean and tidy.
We look forward to your return visit next time you are in New Plymouth.

Regards
lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
79
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Fantastic motel, looks like it was built quite recently, spacious, all mod cons, close to town centre and within walking distance to the beach. Our room was scrupulously clean and well maintained. All in all, highly recommended. Our first choice for staying in New Plymouth. Motel doesn't have a restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks for your review on your stay with as at The Dawson Motel.
Appreicate the feedback on our cleanliness . Our staff and us we pride ourselves on making sure we keep the rooms clean and well maintained.

regards

Lloyd and barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very clean, helpful, close to city center.Was only going to stay one night but stayed two . Quiet within a couple of minutes walk to city center, restaurants, bars and water front.Will definitely be staying again when we come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
yes we get alot of feedback on how handy our location is close to town making it easy for walking into the CBD for a meal or drink.
Look forward to a return visit from you.

Thanks

Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

great little motel with five star rating luxury comfortable modern good size rooms king size beds very comfortable good thing though easy access to market shops and great access to coastal walk great staff and host

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishop k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Always great to get positive feedback and pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A modern and scrupulously clean, comfortable motel. The standard of housekeeping here would put many hospitals to shame! Convenient for access to coastal walkway and downtown area, with choice of restaurants, etc. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. Pleased you enjoyed your stay amd have passed on your compliments regarding the housekeeping to the staff.

Thank you

regards
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great little family two story motel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, little kitchenette and nice laundry. We did up all our clothes and didn't have to worry about having lots of change, the machines and soap were just added to our bill. Convenient to a market on the one way headed north and gas station right in the market parking lot. Warning, if you're headed over to Napier from here, the main road that goes most direct looks like a highway, but has about 17 km of gravel which may not fit your rental car contract. We'd stay in this motel again, it was a great value!

Room Tip: If your luggage is quite heavy, you might ask for a ground floor room and avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Guys
Appreciate the great feedback you posted about your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
Great to get rated the three "c" close convenient and comfortable.

Thanks
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here last night - what a beautiful motel! Good value, spacious room, beaut TV, AC etc, spunky decor, real handy - easy walkable to restaurants, cafés, bars, shops, and the best shower I've ever tried!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi Guys
Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel.
We get a lot of positive feedback on our showers and pleased you thought it was the best you had tried.

Reagrds
barb and lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
223 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing