We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Friendly Staff and Quiet Rooms”
Review of The Dawson Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dawson Motel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always Friendly Staff and Quiet Rooms”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

This is my regular Motel when in NP and this place just keeps up the quality and comfort in their well appointed rooms.

Best part is how quiet the rooms are for a great nights sleep!

I recommend this as my favourite in New Plymouth and it's handy central location is easy to walk in to town for an evening out.

Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi Richard,

Thank you for such a lovely review of The Dawson Motel. Thanks to all the double glazing on our windows they sure to make the rooms quiet don't they!
We're glad you enjoy staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
77
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed here for two nights and really can't rate it highly enough. The hosts are so accommodating and friendly, and make you feel so welcome. I advised them I would be arriving late on my first night, and found my room warm with the heat pump on. I had travelled to New Plymouth with my mountain bike, which they kindly locked safely away in their garage for me. They also have bikes available for guests to use. I arrived back to the motel after being out most of Saturday to find again the heat pump on and the room nice and cosy.
The rooms are very modern, immaculately cleaned and the beds comfortable. Free wi-fi. The proximity to cafes and shops is great. I will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hi Julie,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on The Dawson Motel! Nothing's better than coming into a nice toasty room, so we've very glad you appreciate our extra touches to make you feel comfortable. Yes, the guests get a great kick out of our bikes! Especially with us being so close to the walk way!
We will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Dawson early August, when booking the Motel we advised them that we would be arriving late. We arrived to find the heater on and the unit nice and 'toasty' and the electric blanket on which was really thoughtful. The bed was really comfortable with good blankets, the curtains kept out the light, the furniture was comfortable too. It was great the way they re-stocked the teabags and coffee on the 2nd day. Extra towels were found in the bathroom. It was all nice and clean.
Well recommended, stay here you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranandPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi ,

Thank you for your review of The Dawson Motel. We definitely like to make you feel right at home when you stay with us so we're glad you appreciated a nice toasty room! We get quite a few compliments about our beds, they sure are good!

Best wishes,

Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here many times while in New Plymouth on business. Incredibly friendly owners and the rooms are so clean that they are like brand new. The rooms are also very nice size with good amenities. Convenient walking distance to all downtown restaurants and pubs. Highly recommended if you are staying in New Plymouth. Also free wifi which is somewhat unusual in NZ.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi Phil,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on The Dawson Motel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and its good to see you noticed how we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms!
We have a lot of guests find it very helpful having free wifi here at The Dawson Motel, I'm pleased to hear it was helpful to you.

Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I had a short break at Dawson Motel with our adult son. We were made to feel very welcome and the motel unit was spotless. The cleaners maintained this standard on a daily basis and all the staff were very thoughtful. I was very impressed with how quiet and warm the unit was. We would certainly recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: We had a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks Lorna for taking the time to review The Dawson Motel.
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, along with the cleaners we pride ourselves on making your stay a comfortable enjoyable experience, I am pleased to see we have achieved this.

Regards,
Barb and Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Do not be fooled by the "Motel" part of the name, this place is more like a hotel!

The room was fantastic size with an extremely comfy bed. The bathroom was exceptionally modern. The room had great control of temperature and was very quiet.

The staff were fantastic and friendly, it was just a shame i was only there for one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks Matt for taking the time to review your stay at the Dawson Motel, we are very glad to hear you found our rooms spacious and modern, we do hear from quite a few people how comfy the beds are!
Hopefully we will be able to have you back for a longer stay soon.

Regards,

Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Being a sales rep I travel all over the North Island and the lower half of the South Island, and I would say The Dawson would be the best motel I stay in, Barb and Lloyd are friendly and always put me in the same room, breakfasts are great and always arrive on time no matter how busy they are, the motel is within walking distant to some great restaurants, it is also close to the costal walk.
I would highly recommend this motel if visiting New Plymouth.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the upper level in winter you will get a fantastic view of Mount Egmont, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Bruce,

Thanks for taking the time to write some positive feedback about your stays at The Dawson Motel. Our upstairs units sure have great view of the mountain at this time of year!! We look forward to having you back again soon!

Cheers,
Lloyd and Barb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
210 reviews
3.5 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dawson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Property: The Dawson Motel
Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing