We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to base yourself for a visit to New Plymouth”
Review of Ariki Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ariki Backpackers
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Appreciated the great service and the comfortable bed. A homely place, well presented, clean, tidy and friendly. It is in an ideal location to explore the city, the night life, beach museum. THe deck looking out over the park and out to the city was wonderful for breakfast adn a late night drink. The nearby cafes although not 'cheap' provided excellent food at a reasonable price. What more could your ask. Would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suep61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great location - seconds from the waterfront, museum and centre of town.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at any time of the day or night. Full of ideas of things to do.
A very homely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here when we were in town for only one night. We like the creature comforts of a private room so decided to go for the private double room with ensuite bathroom and we weren't disappointed. It doesn't have the modern decor of a 5 star hotel but neither does it advertise this. Besides, the room was super comfy and clean and exactly what we were after for the best price. Excellent central location and the staff David and Sheryl were so friendly and welcoming. The only thing that didn't work was the heater in our room, but this wasn't a problem because David made it his business to swap it for a working one straight away. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like a communal dorm but can't afford the prices at hotels, the private room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I really liked it here. The rooms were better value than a lot of other hostels I've stayed at, twenty five dollar special offer, and clean and with complimentary towels! It's the little things that make the difference. The staff were really friendly when I first arrived and also went out of their way to assist me with my random requests, like finding out when sunrise was... The other travelers were friendly and welcoming too. It's in a perfect spot in the city, right next to library and information centre as well as being a minute from the sea. The walk along the coastal path is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very good place to stay for few days and enjoy New Plymouth. Near the information center, the beach, and food shops. Rooms are confortable. Kitchen not so big to sit, but it's okay for a short time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraPalmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Near city centre, bus stop, iSite and the beach, good place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights. We stayed in the Queen Anne room, it has it's own bathroom (with complimentary shampoo and bodywash). The room was big (had a double bed and a single) and comfortable. It has a flat screen TV.
The room was simple and not flash, but was very comfortable and well looked after. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the lady gave us ear plugs just incase there was anyone noisy in the alleyway outside (we didn't have any problems though). We got offered clean towels and sheets every day. The hostel has a really nice deck and a big kitchen. Weirdly you get tea, coffee and cups in the room, but no jug.
It is in a great location, right in the middle of the city and very close to the sea.
The only downside to the place was that there was no car parking, but it was easy enough to park outside.
Great value for money, at $80 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNZ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
Ducks & Drakes Hotel
#2 of 16 in New Plymouth
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunflower lodge backpackers
Sunflower lodge backpackers
#7 of 16 in New Plymouth
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariki Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariki Backpackers

Address: 25 Ariki Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in New Plymouth
Price Range: £26 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ariki Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariki Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing