We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was excellent, they provided free wifi in the bar, computers in the lobby for Internet access, a guest laundry, the option of complimentary playstation hire in room and additional free in house movies. The room was fresh and clean and staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Location was on one of the main road into town, so easy to set out from there. Had a room
around the back, so quiet. Bed comfortable, bathroom small.andn everything supplied. but
there was NO easychair in the room so you had to lie on bed, or sit upright at the table... not very restful. There was room to of had a chair... I did enquire for one ... and the "looking into it" got no followup !
There did not appear to be any Lifts in the building for guests.? Lugged luggage up three
flights of stairs.....not impressed.
Admittedly it was school holidays, and a last minute booking.. (owing to health issues)
so I guess it was okay under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ground floor, if no lifts....... back room ... quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thanks for joining us. I'm sorry we didn't offer you a room with a lounge. Hope to see you back soon.
Many thanks,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Sadly only a one night stay as this was a buisness trip. On arrival a very impressive looking hotel. Lovely welcoming lobbby Friendly staff Clean comfortable room and bed Quiet location Easy walk to town and the coastal walkway Good family buffet resturant with a nice selection of food Nice continental breakfast
I would say this would be a very family friendly hotel with nice outdoor areas, pool and bikes to guests use.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thanks Roger - hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Wow what an awesome hotel.

My mates and I used to stay here in the late 70's and early 80's during Telethon weekends and weekends away.

So lucky the staff has changed and did not recognise me. We even had our photo's on the celebrity board in the old foyer, sneaked in while they were not looking.

Lots of autographs given in the bar.

This time 30 years on the hotel has had a major enhancement, the pool has moved, lucklily no more dives from the first floor room.

The restaurant is fantastic and well worth a visit, make sure you can let your belt out.

The room was very clean and had everything you would want.

Staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Nice bar and lounge after a hard days work, lovely place to relax before dinner.

Will definitely be revisiting.

Thank you Hotel Devon, brought back great memories.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thanks Mark - great to have you back.....but we need that photo next time....and another autograph!
Cheers,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just stayed for the one night, room a little on the tight size but met all my needs and was quiet. The bed; very comfortable with a good mattress this will ensure my use of this hotel again.

Restaurant is a large buffet affair and is popular with the local families, and the waitress found me a table away from most of the bustle (I had just endured 34 hours of non-stop travel and was jet lagged & cranky so lots of children however well behaved was not for me) the drinks service was quick.

Breakfast, opened at 06:30 and had a good selection on offer.

No idea of the hotel costs as the company had prepaid for the room and food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thanks Paul - hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was certainly a nice surprise to walk in & stay here as I could see what The Devon was like via the web.
Nice and fairly new (the accommodation part) though my room was a bit tight but feel that could be overcome by changing the layout.
Would happy to come back with fairly basic (more family / buffet) style dinning as I would have like possibly a smaller / quite dinning area (will dine out next time).
Well done and will see me again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thanks Nick,
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good hotel with a small Pool nice restaurant, but the room (its very easy to hear what the nabor is doing), i will be here for more then 2 weeks, so if it is not getting better i will have to move. The city of New Plymouth seems nice, and they have bikes here for you to use.

Room Tip: Weddings and fam partys in the weekends, not sure where you can sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thanks Geir,
I'm glad the team have now found you a room that meets all your needs. It's great to have you with us at The Devon Hotel, and on this side of the world.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing