We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheerful”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was going to call this review Cheap and Cheerful but while cheerful it isn't cheap.
Had I paid the full rate of $240 for a double studio I would have been very disappointed.
The staff are very friendly,the hotel has a very strong involvement in community support and employ a lot of young staff in a depressed regional economy.
We stayed in a refurbished room which was reasonably appointed but very small with poor soundproofing between rooms. The bed was supposed to be a queen and well could have been but it seemed very small. The Marbles buffet downstairs is very popular locally but didn't seem to match up with its advertised fare
Lots of good points for the Devon but I would rate it no better than 3 star

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hi Wayne,
Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback. A huge range of dishes is on offer nightly at Marbles Buffet, and our chef and his team change much of the buffet every night - partly to offer variety, and partly depending on what fresh ingredients are available.
Next time your are through, if you'd like to advise some of your favourite dishes, we'll do our best to include them in the evening's selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    98
    48
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
82
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Had a 2 night stay for a conference. On arrival the staff were super accomodating and the rooms modern and comfortable. Food was plentiful and fresh. Restaurant and bar staff were also very friendly.
Would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MechanicRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Many thanks for joining us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have stayed at this facility twice now and I should have learnt from the first stay. The rooms are very small with cheap fittings and rough paint work. There is insufficient parking for a conference facility. The food from Marbles is barely passable. And the location is quite far from the centre considering the cost of staying here. I have had better accommodation for far less in pretty well every other city in NZ. The quality hotel around the corner is also superior.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for Queen's birthday weekend. Really like the hotel. Family friendly, clean and just a nice cozy feel about the place. Lovely heritage to the place and well run. Nice fireplace. Nice buffet -though we are not buffet enthusiasts, prefer a decent restuarant and a classy meal.
It seemed convenient. Was rather interesting to try pig out like the locals. Was a fun experience for the kids.
Our room was close to back carpark & buffet - a bit noisy with kids playing ball late at night and cars starting up. Just remove the hoop pls. Found a few 'sexy' mags tucked away in the cupboard room from a decade ago. Which we found rather funny :)

Recommend for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was excellent, they provided free wifi in the bar, computers in the lobby for Internet access, a guest laundry, the option of complimentary playstation hire in room and additional free in house movies. The room was fresh and clean and staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_Dragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW ZEALAND
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Location was on one of the main road into town, so easy to set out from there. Had a room
around the back, so quiet. Bed comfortable, bathroom small.andn everything supplied. but
there was NO easychair in the room so you had to lie on bed, or sit upright at the table... not very restful. There was room to of had a chair... I did enquire for one ... and the "looking into it" got no followup !
There did not appear to be any Lifts in the building for guests.? Lugged luggage up three
flights of stairs.....not impressed.
Admittedly it was school holidays, and a last minute booking.. (owing to health issues)
so I guess it was okay under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ground floor, if no lifts....... back room ... quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thanks for joining us. I'm sorry we didn't offer you a room with a lounge. Hope to see you back soon.
Many thanks,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Sadly only a one night stay as this was a buisness trip. On arrival a very impressive looking hotel. Lovely welcoming lobbby Friendly staff Clean comfortable room and bed Quiet location Easy walk to town and the coastal walkway Good family buffet resturant with a nice selection of food Nice continental breakfast
I would say this would be a very family friendly hotel with nice outdoor areas, pool and bikes to guests use.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks Roger - hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing