We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Overall a nice place to stay. Complimentary bikes were great and few mins to the coastal walkway. Hotel looks fresh and new, bar woman was very friendly. Value for money was good. Room had nice big telly in it. Only thing which may make us think again was the pool and spa which seemed a bit dirty and needed some TLC. Spa has rusty bits in the corners so just the appearance lets it down a little.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank linzi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thanks for joining us, and for the feedback. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and it sounds like you experienced some of our cocktails in the bar - excellent!
Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    94
    46
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
79
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

For what they charge, the room is far too small, the meals are not good, I paid $150 for half a room. I ordered room service for dinner, soup and chicken bresat with salad, the soup was bland the chicken was dry and the salad was fairly pathetic and came with no dressings. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug06061972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Ouch - thanks for the feedback. I shall go through with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staff were lovely and very helpful/accommodating. Entrance, lobby, hotel grounds and pool were very tidy, pretty and clean. Rooms were nothing much to write home about but still comfortable enough, clean and great beds! Quite thin walls but neighbours sounded like they were having fun and it didn't go on toooo late.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thanks Sylvia - we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here when visiting family for Xmas last year.It was real nice with a good atmosphere
and lovely decor and facilities.The restaurant was very inviting and warm.Parking was easy and the hotel is very central.

Room Tip: Explore the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks Charles,
We hope it's not long before you are back with us in Taranaki.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Normally I can sleep like a log just about anywhere, but I found the noise of the neighbour's television going on until well after 2.00am very disturbing. It wasn't loud, it was just intrusive. There were no other outside noises, excepting the shower upstairs, so I don't think labelling the whole hotel as having "paper thin walls" is appropriate ~ just more bad luck, for me, that night.

The room was a good size and overlooked the fountain and garden courtyard, which was nice. Mini bar, small table and chairs and there was REAL MILK, which is such a bonus, as I despise being presented with limited quantities in thimbles with which to make my morning coffee.

Hand towels would have been nice, and extra towels also, as there's nowhere really to dry the allocated ones if you want to shower at both night and again in the morning. The toiletries were great though, including a comb (I'd forgotten to pack mine) a razor and toothbrush.

Dined at the buffet, after most of the shrieking kids had left. We could have had a quieter a la carte menu in the bar, which is where we did start with our bottle of wine. The wine list is not extensive, but it's well~priced. The buffet had a great selection of seafood, (the only reason I'd ever *do* a buffet) a carvery, and other hot dishes, with lots of salads and vegetables, and innumerable desserts. Excellent value for large appetites. Not outstanding, from a gourmet point of view, but a good variety.

Breakfast buffet was good too, although not such good value. I suspect there is a lot of waste when doing that style, if you don't have a full house. I've eaten worse for more money is some so~called top establishments, and eaten better for less money in some corner cafes...

All up, it was just what was needed, as we were arriving late from a long trip and needed accommodation with meal options. We've stayed here before and dined in town (which is close by), and we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for joining us, and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed in a refurbished room, the decor was modern and clean. Very comfy bed and pillows. The room was very small, okay for a solo traveller. The window is floor to ceiling and looked out to the carpark and main road so the blind had to pulled the whole time, some net curtains may help with privacy. I dined in the restaurant for the buffet dinner which was not too bad for a buffet style meal which I'm not really a fan of, would prefer a menu order restaurant. The biggest problem is the sound proofing between rooms, I was woken by neighbours showering and using their hair dryer at midnight, it was so loud I could clearly hear their conversation while they were in their bathroom. I ended up putting in earplugs and for this reason I would not be able to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the otherside of the main road for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Last_one_standing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Friendly staff, easy check-in, could not find a lift and the stairs are a bit of a trial. But on the plus side for smokers there is a covered area with seating outside within the complex. Milk for tea and coffee is offered on arrival and the pillows are the best I have had in many many hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small, I had to negotiate between the end of the bed and the wall mounted TV to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We have a variety of room configurations , and outlooks. Next time you're in town, we'd love the opportunity to find the perfect one for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing