We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Reception staff were friendly and cheerful, room was nice and clean, tidy. Shower had good water pressure, air con in room too.

Hotel food was nice, and they had complimentary mountain bikes for hotel guests.

A nice hotel and would stay again, 1G of free data

No street noise

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks for joining us Cameron - we hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    93
    46
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
79
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargil, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just stayed here for 5 days with a large conference group and the staff could not have been more helpful. There were no airs and graces about them but at all times they did their utmost to ensure we had a pleasant stay. On the first day they discovered I had a food allergy and after that the chef always made sure i was very well fed, without my asking. They were always available and always smiling and cheerful.
The rooms are a bit tired and could benefit from air con (everyone thought it was a very "hot" hotel), and a few more shelves, drawers and hooks around the place wouldn't go amiss, but the rooms are spacious enough and clean. The pool was nice and the restaurant was good. Real coffee connoisseurs should drink elsewhere although it suited me well enough.
It's an easy walk into town along a busy road or a longer and much nicer walk along the foreshore path.
We'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brettsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks Brett and Sue for joining us, and for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Not all of our rooms are fully air conditioned yet, and I'm sorry you were not offered a change of room. Just in case the last of our rooms are not completed on your next visit, please let us know and we'll ensure you are heated and chilled appropriately.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We checked in for a 2 night stay with no hassle. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms where clean. Missed having a bath in our room but for £70 a night for 2 people we found very reasonable. We had the buffet breakfast which had a lot of choice and was only £12 which we felt was good value!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thanks for joining us Tracy,
We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and hope it's not too long before we can welcome you back.
Safe travels,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

A recently refurbished to a very high standard hotel and conference centre. Marbles buffet has extensive menu and choices great for families but is not fine dining . Overpriced for the buffet option. Nice bars and public areas . Good conference venue.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pam255112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for joining us.
Our award winning buffet is one of the country's most popular dining experiences. We also have a number of other dining opportunities, including a quick and affordable lighter snacks.
Hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents and five year old daughter. This wasn't my first choice but we chose to come on the weekend of the round the mountain bike race and booked really late so didn't have a lot of choice! My parents had a room at the front of the hotel with a double bed (841). The rooms here have been refurbished and are quite nice - the corridors around them have not yet been finished. However, the noise of the work didn't bother them.
My daughter and I shared a room at the back with two double beds 705). These rooms have not yet been redone and they could really do with it. Neither room had much storage and our room at the back did allow some sound from the interconnecting room next door.
The pool really benefited from a day of hot sunshine but there is a very warm spa pool if the other pool is too cold for you.
There is a restaurant on site with buffet breakfast and evening meal. We did not eat evening meal here as two of us don't eat much and I didn't think we would get value for money.
Probably a little to far to comfortably walk into town for a meal but there are a couple of bars fairly close.
In summary, a good base for a non self catering couple of nights.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nzworkingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks - hope to look after you next time you are up our way.
Yes, the new lift is almost complete next to your parents room. Also, we have a delicious menu, if you are wanting a lighter snack or meal.
We really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

A business trip has had me staying at The Devon Hotel for a week. Room service breakfast was appalling, no butter or margarine served with toast, staff had to return with milk for cereal and yoghurt was warm, gave up in the end and had coffee at local cafe. Dinner not much better, lamb shanks and mash dry and tasteless. I outlined my displeasure to the person at reception and got no response and have had no response since.

Room Tip: Corner room good size but felt unfinished, perhaps part of the renovations underway at present?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks Mr Pugh,
My duty manager had briefed me on your discussions. I am sorry that the issues raised were not addressed to your satisfaction.
Your department plays a significant role in the future of this region and country, and its important to me and my team that you are able to relax and be well looked after whilst you (and your colleagues) are in New Plymouth.
Again my apologies.
Peter Tennent
The Devon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent 2 nights here was clean and tidy staff were friendly.The restaurant was great even though they were fully booked the managed to accommodate us even though we had to sit in the bar to eat..
the swimming pool could do with a bit of work ..and no flannels in the room was a new one for us when asked we were told that people bring there own well not us but it was sorted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Chris,
Thanks for joining us, and for the feedback.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing