We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our holiday and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were reasonably well appointed and very clean. In fact the entire place was spotless and we loved the fairy lights adorning the trees along the roadside.
Our inital contact with the front desk staff was not as helpful as we first expected. When we mentioned the proximity to the swimming pool and screaming children I was met with indifference. Surprised that we weren't at least offered another room, having said that everyone else we encountered were lovely. Especially the team that delivered our room service.
Our room was spacious, very clean and the bed linen superb. Good size telly and the bathroom was a great size. A little odd not having a hair dryer or handtowels but apart from that had everthing we needed.
We decided against the dining room and had room service the second night and loved it! The staff that delivered our food were great and the antipasta platter was huge and very nice!
Overall a good place to stay and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetubmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, General Manager at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback. Yes, all our rooms have hair driers - we should have pointed out it's draw. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the Devon Hotel with some work colleagues as part of a business trip to a function held at the Devon.
Very happy with the size of the room, the friendly staff and the conference center was impressive and a great asset for New Plymouth. The included wifi worked well and I had a very good sleep and plenty of car parking. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thanks for joining us. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Reception staff were friendly and cheerful, room was nice and clean, tidy. Shower had good water pressure, air con in room too.

Hotel food was nice, and they had complimentary mountain bikes for hotel guests.

A nice hotel and would stay again, 1G of free data

No street noise

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks for joining us Cameron - we hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I have just stayed here for 5 days with a large conference group and the staff could not have been more helpful. There were no airs and graces about them but at all times they did their utmost to ensure we had a pleasant stay. On the first day they discovered I had a food allergy and after that the chef always made sure i was very well fed, without my asking. They were always available and always smiling and cheerful.
The rooms are a bit tired and could benefit from air con (everyone thought it was a very "hot" hotel), and a few more shelves, drawers and hooks around the place wouldn't go amiss, but the rooms are spacious enough and clean. The pool was nice and the restaurant was good. Real coffee connoisseurs should drink elsewhere although it suited me well enough.
It's an easy walk into town along a busy road or a longer and much nicer walk along the foreshore path.
We'd stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Brettsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks Brett and Sue for joining us, and for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Not all of our rooms are fully air conditioned yet, and I'm sorry you were not offered a change of room. Just in case the last of our rooms are not completed on your next visit, please let us know and we'll ensure you are heated and chilled appropriately.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We checked in for a 2 night stay with no hassle. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms where clean. Missed having a bath in our room but for £70 a night for 2 people we found very reasonable. We had the buffet breakfast which had a lot of choice and was only £12 which we felt was good value!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thanks for joining us Tracy,
We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and hope it's not too long before we can welcome you back.
Safe travels,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

A recently refurbished to a very high standard hotel and conference centre. Marbles buffet has extensive menu and choices great for families but is not fine dining . Overpriced for the buffet option. Nice bars and public areas . Good conference venue.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pam255112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for joining us.
Our award winning buffet is one of the country's most popular dining experiences. We also have a number of other dining opportunities, including a quick and affordable lighter snacks.
Hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents and five year old daughter. This wasn't my first choice but we chose to come on the weekend of the round the mountain bike race and booked really late so didn't have a lot of choice! My parents had a room at the front of the hotel with a double bed (841). The rooms here have been refurbished and are quite nice - the corridors around them have not yet been finished. However, the noise of the work didn't bother them.
My daughter and I shared a room at the back with two double beds 705). These rooms have not yet been redone and they could really do with it. Neither room had much storage and our room at the back did allow some sound from the interconnecting room next door.
The pool really benefited from a day of hot sunshine but there is a very warm spa pool if the other pool is too cold for you.
There is a restaurant on site with buffet breakfast and evening meal. We did not eat evening meal here as two of us don't eat much and I didn't think we would get value for money.
Probably a little to far to comfortably walk into town for a meal but there are a couple of bars fairly close.
In summary, a good base for a non self catering couple of nights.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nzworkingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at The Devon Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks - hope to look after you next time you are up our way.
Yes, the new lift is almost complete next to your parents room. Also, we have a delicious menu, if you are wanting a lighter snack or meal.
We really appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 390 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devon Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a wide variety of accommodation from luxurious suites with spa baths to studio units with various bed configurations sleeping up to four people. All rooms with access to the extensive Hotel amenities, including complimentary internet access, playstations, mountain bikes, gym access and a fantastic spa and pool complex. We are the home of Marbles Buffet Restaurant New Plymouth open 7 nights a week. You can relax by the fire in The Rocks Lounge with a coffee or a drink and nibbles. OUR NEW CONFERENCE CENTRE IS NOW OPEN Let our team help you organise your wedding or your next conference, function, seminar, reunion, team visit or group tour. We have the expertise, contact us now for a quote. The Devon Hotel New Plymouth is the perfect destination, we'd love to look after you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devon Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devon Hotel And Conference Center
The Devon Hotel New Plymouth
Devon Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing