We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Braemar Motor Inn

Braemar Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Braemar Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
225 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a basic motel where we stayed overnight. We were in a corner upstairs room which was quite comfortable, a peep of the sea view and was nice and quiet and clean. The en suite was very small with only a sliding door separating it from the rest of the room. The location is perfect, very close to downtown shopping and dining areas, and the wonderful coastal walkway. Our stay was very short so we were unable to see all that the area had to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
18
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

At first we booked this place thinking its reasonably priced and that it has all the basics even though it is old and not as flash as most motor inns. What a bad decision! The beds are almost if not past their lifetime and the rooms are extremely noisy. Every toilet flush and pipeline service for the motor inn can be heard. To give you an idea of how loud some of the noises were, almost everyone staying at the motor inn came outside of their room at midnight wondering what one of the pipeline noise was. Extremely annoying. Owner of the motor inn was no where to be seen which was a shame, probably used to the noises and having a good sleep. Noises did not stop, it could be heard the whole night. There seems to be no sort of insulation at all. Will never stay here again, would rather pay more and go else where. If i did not pay up front i definitely would have checked out there and then and gone somewhere else or asked for some sort of deduction in the morning of not cancelation of all charges.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Plymouth hotels

Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
632 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Good place to stop. Not too expensive. Good location. Staff very helpful. Everything else was booked out in town Braemar team were very helpful at short notice. Close to town. Close to coastal walkway. I believe the service provided is reflected in the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We needed a place with three single beds in (hard to find, mostly one dbl one single), They up graded us to a "Family room" one bedroom tiny kitchenette,OK for us as we were working 10-am. It was clean and quiet despite being the end closest to the road.Good value if you are on a budget. Disappointed with no soap provided even after it had been serviced on the Saturday. Visited Light show in the Park .... great for children and adults.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have a mobility problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We booked this place online. The pictures looked very nice however when we got there it was definitely not what we expected. The room was tidy enough although there were quite a few cobwebs about. Very old styled. Noisy people in the room next door that unfortunately I had to deal with myself. Unfortunately the lady working there wasn't too welcoming or pleasant to my partner and I; we ended up going to a different Motel after one night after paying for three nights. We did lose a lot of money by doing so but were ALOT happier in the one we changed too. Definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

This a pleasant surprise in central New Plymouth. Very clean and warm with a small kitchen area. The room was quiet despite the motel being close to the commercial centre. Worth a stay if you are on a budget . Friendly hosts and within walking distance of the beach and the excellent Puke Ariki visitor centre and museum. We spent a lot longer in the museum than we planned.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Typical NZ motel, but has everything you need and great value. Only a brisk walk of three blocks to the stunning rocky foreshore with the occasional beach. Similarly to the City centre with plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Not a lot of options apart from size. No views to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#28 of 30 in New Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
1.5 mi away
Coronation Court Motel
Coronation Court Motel
#26 of 30 in New Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
Bella Vista Motel New Plymouth
#22 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Timandra Motel
Timandra Motel
#24 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Motor Inn

Property: Braemar Motor Inn
Address: 152 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Braemar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing