We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carolyn and Sandy -“The Best of Hosts””
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Carolyn and Sandy –“The Best of Hosts””
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having stayed in various motels over recent years Amber Court is up with the best.
Carolyn and Sandy make feel like family from first contact or after weeks on site. The rooms are well presented and comfortable with good clean facilities, serviced daily with great comfortable beds. It's the little things that make such a difference to a traveller's experience, Amber Court offers it in loads. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Having a BBQ court yard we enjoyed many a good night. There are plenty of restaurants and food outlets nearby. I will aim to use the Amber Court again on my next business visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Boney what can we say ? Sandy and I had the greatest pleasure in accommodating you. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully a catch up in the courtyard. Thank you again for your kind words, we are flattered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    35
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
32
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have stayed at the Amber Court several times & have always had a nice welcome and a pleasant stay. There is plenty of parking space. The central location is walking distance to several restaraunts & super markets. The rooms are well furnished (include sky & internet) and always tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was my wife and I first visit to New Plymouth. A much more calming and relaxing place than Auckland. Amber Court Motel is well positioned within the city central district and handy to all amenities. The staff are very friendly, polite and welcoming. Our room was very nice, warm and quiet. We have stayed in many, many nice Hotels abroad in the pacific and asia region and I must say that this room in this Motel in "Little ole NZ" beats them all. My first impression walking into our room was that it looked, felt and smelled clean. Being an ex military man, I pay particular attention to detail and having dropped our luggage on the floor I (like most travellers do), fell onto the bed. I noticed straight away that even the bedspread looked crisp and was either brand new or had been dry cleaned just prior to our arrival. Now that's what I call clean. The kitchen and ablution facilities were very good. Wifey loves her sleep and she pretty much got that. Our room was very quiet and blocked out most of the road traffic noise. I would definitely stay at the Amber Court Motel again in the future when visiting our New Plymouth friends. Thank you and well done Amber Court Motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipandSantaFeAlvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your kind words. There may be a selection of newer motels here in New Plymouth but the cleaning of our units is second to none. Your comments are passed onto "our girls" and it is a pleasure to see such pride taken in their work and such feedback means a lot to us all.
Management and Staff Amber Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A fantastic week in NP made comfortable and convenient with the excellent service provided by the staff at Amber Court Motel. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, approachable staff who went out of their way to make guests feel at home, relaxed and refreshed. The facilities are quiet, spacious, clean and well appointed. Plenty of parking and the spa pool were appreciated. The location is handy and within easy walking distance to shops, businesses etc. I'd highly recommend staying here and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the corner was spacious and sunny, very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Four adults stayed one night in a two bedroom unit. It was huge, like a house really. Big spa bath separate toilet. And we were on the corner and didn't notice any road noise. Clean and comfortable. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What awesome people! would highly recommend and if we ever go back we will most def stay there again.Amber Court is close to everything so it was a bonus as we had never been to New Plymouth before. Very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Great place for a family as they have a heated swimming pool, pool table, spa and games room. Sky and internet availability as well. Not to mention the awesome eggs benedict breakfast that inc croissants and beautiful orange juice and coffee that was delivered to our room! Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The ladies that run the place are really gems. We felt like family with them.

The rooms are not flashy, but they're comfortable and large and kept very clean. It's good to have the pool, which the kids really liked. Good location, walking distance to a lot of things.. Really it's all about the proprietors. Highly recommended for that reason.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Mr M, Sandy and I are flattered by your compliments and thank you so much. With families such as yours it is a joy to manage Amber Court. Our rooms are getting a little flashier (if that's a word), we are constantly upgrading and in the past few months there has been major changes. Again thanks for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitzroy Beach Motel
Fitzroy Beach Motel
#11 of 30 in New Plymouth
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing