We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Nieces Wedding”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Nieces Wedding”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husbands brothers daughter ,had planned her Wedding for 20th October 2012,in there home town of Taranaki.At Cathedral Church of ST Mary 2.00pm.We decided to Fly from Wellington {19-10-12 ,on the 11.15am flight-good choise }.Had pre-booked our accomadation-through the internet on Hotel.Com,two months prior to the Wedding {as it was Labour weekend} On arriving at Amber Court we were greated by a lovely lady Caroline {who asked if we were going to the 2.00 Wedding}.When we replied yes we were,she said would you like to be grouped in the other Studio rooms alongside the other guest for the Wedding.great we replied it would be a good way to get to know them ,as we werent familar with them.So she took us to rooms 58 and 59 {at the back of the complex} a great location,with car parking,barbieque and seating in a family setting.Walking upstairs to our really spacious Studio rooms ,ours containing a King sized bed ,dinning area,kitchen {with Oven,Microwave,Fridge and sink } all cooking facilaties jug,toaster etc:Bathroom -with Shower.Plenty of room for two Adults {and a Television-with free Wi -fi} .The other studio was for our two Adult Daughters ,which contained one Double and one single beds.Great location on Leech St opposite Pack and Save and Mcdonalds.Also within walking distance of the Church {which we chose to drive to} A great hotel I would highly reccomend for Family Holidays,close to everything Newplymouth has to offer.

Room Tip: Talk to the Staff about your needs,when booking they are really helpful and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Your family walked in with a smile, how can we resist to help. I am so happy for all wedding guests that the weather came right for the special occasion. Your comments are so appreciated.
I hope we see you and your family again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    35
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
32
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The most welcoming motel I've ever stayed in. We felt at home from the moment we walked into reception, and were enjoying it so much we stayed extra nights, and that's despite appalling weather scuppering our hiking plans. The room was big and had everything we needed - full range of Sky channels meant we could watch the football, and the excellent free wifi deal meant that we could do all our mail and planning whenever we needed. The pool is nice and the spa bath better.
Location is right on the junction of the two major highways in New Plymouth, 6-10 minutes walk from the main shopping/restaurant area and the sea. Considering where it is, there's very little traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
What a way to start a Sunday morning ! Thank you so much. As I respond to your awesome review its actually still raining. We have time off this arvo and I think we will be in the spa and pool at some stage. Its a wonderful asset to have on days like today.
I do hope we see you on your next visit and the weather is a lot kinder so you can enjoy some of the spectacular walks we have here in Taranaki.
Sandy and Carolyn
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having stayed in various motels over recent years Amber Court is up with the best.
Carolyn and Sandy make feel like family from first contact or after weeks on site. The rooms are well presented and comfortable with good clean facilities, serviced daily with great comfortable beds. It's the little things that make such a difference to a traveller's experience, Amber Court offers it in loads. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Having a BBQ court yard we enjoyed many a good night. There are plenty of restaurants and food outlets nearby. I will aim to use the Amber Court again on my next business visit to New Plymouth.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Boney what can we say ? Sandy and I had the greatest pleasure in accommodating you. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully a catch up in the courtyard. Thank you again for your kind words, we are flattered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I have stayed at the Amber Court several times & have always had a nice welcome and a pleasant stay. There is plenty of parking space. The central location is walking distance to several restaraunts & super markets. The rooms are well furnished (include sky & internet) and always tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was my wife and I first visit to New Plymouth. A much more calming and relaxing place than Auckland. Amber Court Motel is well positioned within the city central district and handy to all amenities. The staff are very friendly, polite and welcoming. Our room was very nice, warm and quiet. We have stayed in many, many nice Hotels abroad in the pacific and asia region and I must say that this room in this Motel in "Little ole NZ" beats them all. My first impression walking into our room was that it looked, felt and smelled clean. Being an ex military man, I pay particular attention to detail and having dropped our luggage on the floor I (like most travellers do), fell onto the bed. I noticed straight away that even the bedspread looked crisp and was either brand new or had been dry cleaned just prior to our arrival. Now that's what I call clean. The kitchen and ablution facilities were very good. Wifey loves her sleep and she pretty much got that. Our room was very quiet and blocked out most of the road traffic noise. I would definitely stay at the Amber Court Motel again in the future when visiting our New Plymouth friends. Thank you and well done Amber Court Motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipandSantaFeAlvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your kind words. There may be a selection of newer motels here in New Plymouth but the cleaning of our units is second to none. Your comments are passed onto "our girls" and it is a pleasure to see such pride taken in their work and such feedback means a lot to us all.
Management and Staff Amber Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A fantastic week in NP made comfortable and convenient with the excellent service provided by the staff at Amber Court Motel. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly, approachable staff who went out of their way to make guests feel at home, relaxed and refreshed. The facilities are quiet, spacious, clean and well appointed. Plenty of parking and the spa pool were appreciated. The location is handy and within easy walking distance to shops, businesses etc. I'd highly recommend staying here and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the corner was spacious and sunny, very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Four adults stayed one night in a two bedroom unit. It was huge, like a house really. Big spa bath separate toilet. And we were on the corner and didn't notice any road noise. Clean and comfortable. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Motel
Flamingo Motel
#11 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Manor Motel
Landmark Manor Motel
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asure Saddle and Sulky Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing