We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant last night to our 2 week trip.”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the last destination of our 2 week trip. We thought it was fantastic value for money with a full kitchen, dining, bathroom and toilet areas. Even a lounge area that we entertained friends in. The reception staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a lovely, comfortable stay here. Everything was excellent - clean and tidy accomodation, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and you really can't beat the location. Full marks. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This motel is very conveniently placed in the centre of the city. We recently used it during our wedding weekend as we had overseas guests to cater for. Its location allowed us to eliminate the need for rental car transport. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to accommodate our requests both prior to and during the 5 days of our stay. We would recommend them to anyone needing reasonably priced, clean, spacious and adequately resourced two bedroom units. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units near the back of the complex are ideal for gatherings of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. It was a pleasure being part of your special weekend. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and wish you all well.

Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent Easter weekend at the Amber Court Motel and just loved it. Gail and Nat were lovely to deal with. We booked a 2brm unit and it had everything we needed as a family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 & 6). Our unit was comfortable, well equipt and very clean and tidy. There was an indoor heated pool which entertained the kids no end and anything we needed was within walking distance. I would definately book in there again if we head back to New Plymouth. I also got a recommendation through the motel of a babysitter to use for an evening and they put me onto a lovely lady who the kids liked immediately. Many thanks for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay over the easter weekend. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is not the most modern Motel we have stayed in but neither is it the most expensive. In our opinion it is good value for money. The Motel is situated on a very busy road junction and we had one of the units closer to the road but was not disturbed by traffic noise at all. In fact, the beds are so comfortable I had the best nights sleep in ages. The rooms are clean and spacious and is equipped with a very large TV with more channels than you could wish for. We had breakfast of porridge, juice and toast and it was really good and well priced. Add on the very helpful and friendly staff and you have a recipe for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay and thank you so much for your valued comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This motel is situated at a busy junction on a one-way system, but I requested a quiet ground floor room and I got what I wanted and had a very peaceful sleep. My room was good sized, immaculate clean and well decorated and well equipped with full size kitchen. The motel has a small swimming pool and a spa pool - so delightful to relax in. There is one restaurant across the road, and others close by, and plenty of fast-food outlets at the junction. If you want to do your own cooking, there are 4 supermarkets close by. And 2 garages too! 10-15mins walk will take you to Pukepura Park, or to the coastal walk. The beaches are further out. Being situated on Highway 3 it is easy access to Stratford and Mount Taranaki. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful and my room was well cleaned. A good choice.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, they are at the back of the building, but away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Amber Court is in the centre of New Plymouth and convenient for the supermarkets and restaurants. The unit we stayed in was a good size for a family of 4 with a good kitchen. The onsite indoor swimming pool was a bonus. The owners were very helpful and we enjoyed our stay here. There is quite a bit of road/city noise, but that's unavoidable in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#13 of 30 in New Plymouth
186 reviews
3.1 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
#18 of 30 in New Plymouth
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Landmark Manor Motel
Landmark Manor Motel
#21 of 30 in New Plymouth
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing