We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place,great staff”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place,great staff”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Have just managed to get ourselves organised in a new country and a new home. My wife decided she needed to return to her roots after 49 years in Oz?? Stayed here at the Amber Court in a two bedroom unit for just over four weeks while we got settled and bought a house. Cannot give enough praise to Gail and her team. Were looked after like silk worms and made to feel we were part of the Amber Court family. Be aware that this property is not five star but it is kept spotless by efficient and friendly cleaning teams. We found it ideal as we could self cater and it was close to all the city's amenities and restaurants. Thank you Gail for your kindness and hospitality during our stay and my wife and I look forward to maintaining your friendship in the future. ( Gail's Eggs Benedict for breakfast are outstanding)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    35
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
32
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed four nights at the Amber Court Motel in May.
The Staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a two bedroom unit with large Kitchen/Dining/lounge area. Beds were comfortable with electric blankets - these were much needed as we seemed to arrive during a cold snap.
There was a small wall mounted heater in the lounge, and also a small electric radiator type which we also used in the lounge, these proved no match for the cold and extra clothes were required.
Our unit had it's own parking and entry from the road to the rear of the Motel.
The rooms were clean and tidy.
The Hotel was central to all our requirements, & right next door to a laundromat.
We enjoyed our stay, although on the nights of the cold snap a little more heating available in the lounge room would of enhanced our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAPerthFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Between May 7th to the 21st, my wife and I did a fly-drive holiday around the North island of N.Z.
Of the 6 ( 4 star plus properties ) we stayed in on this trip. we rated the Amber Court Motel In New Plymouth by far the most superior by a long shot. The quality of the accommodation, location ( within easy walking distance to the city's main street, restaurants, take-away food outlets,supermarkets, banks, etc.) cleanliness,service and food quality were of an extremely high standard. The covered in heated swimming pool was a very pleasant surprise and an added bonus.
My wife and I most certainly have no hesitation in recommending our friends or anyone to stay at this property when visiting New Plymouth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Everything was comfortable, clen and tidy. The staff were fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for them. The two bedroom unit was fantastic for a family and was big enough to accommodate two children. We would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RAB1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was the last destination of our 2 week trip. We thought it was fantastic value for money with a full kitchen, dining, bathroom and toilet areas. Even a lounge area that we entertained friends in. The reception staff were lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikerae
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a lovely, comfortable stay here. Everything was excellent - clean and tidy accomodation, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and you really can't beat the location. Full marks. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This motel is very conveniently placed in the centre of the city. We recently used it during our wedding weekend as we had overseas guests to cater for. Its location allowed us to eliminate the need for rental car transport. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to accommodate our requests both prior to and during the 5 days of our stay. We would recommend them to anyone needing reasonably priced, clean, spacious and adequately resourced two bedroom units. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units near the back of the complex are ideal for gatherings of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambercourt, Manager at Amber Court Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. It was a pleasure being part of your special weekend. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future and wish you all well.

Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
Auto Lodge Motor Inn
#17 of 30 in New Plymouth
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
BKs Egmont Motor Lodge
#20 of 30 in New Plymouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
0.4 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: Cnr Eliot & Leach Streets, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Court Motel New Plymouth is a centrally located and affordable motel. Our Taranaki motel is within walking distance to the New Plymouth CBD, Pukekura Park, Restaurants, Coastal walkway and more. Management and staff strive to give you space, comfort, cleanliness, security and exceptional service. Amber Court Motel caters for families, corporates, travellers and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing