We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel is an understatement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have travelled extensively in New Zealand and overseas and have stayed at what are considered the best hotels. I would put the Nice Hotel up there with them.

From the time you step in the door you know that this hotel is different. It's quaint but stylish, the rooms are beautifully furnished, the artwork is wonderful, the bed linen is crisp and the bed itself is supremely comfortable, which makes if difficult to rise for the sumptuous breakfast prepared by the mine host and owner Terry. The bathroom is inviting, particularly with the spacious spa bath.

The staff are friendly without being intrusive and the rooms are sublime. I've seen comments about road noise, I'm not deaf, stayed there on a Friday and Saturday nights and never heard a thing even though our room was on a street frontage.

The bistro is up there with the best of them, the duck confit, fell off the bone. The wine list was extensive and caters for all tastes.

The star of the show is Terry, from the outset you can see he's had a role in every detail of this wonderful establishment.

The two night staty wasn't long enough. New Plymouth isn't a city I know well, but with Terry's direction it'll be a city that I'll get to know better. The seaside walkway is unique and the parks are great to explore.

We'll be back and wouldnlt stay anywjhere but the Nice Hotel which I'm already recommending to my friends. It's been a well kept secret.

Room Tip: I've seen all the rooms and they all look superb, especially the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the Nice Hotel on A recommendation from a friend. The hotel is in an old character home that has been extensively renovated and extended so can't really be compared with a more modern building. However the room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable and it included all the conveniences expected in this class of hotel. There were a number of interesting nooks and crannies in the hotel,eg the library.

The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from the waterfront walkway, in the middle of the city and across from the oldest stone church in the country.

We also had dinner there. The menu is quite short but the food and service were great. We were there on Jan 2 and many of the dinner guests were locals rather than hotel guests which indicates the restaurant is one of the better ones in the city.

Overall we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We recently had our wedding hosted by Terry and the team at Nice, and our guests all stayed at the Hotel.
The set-up was beautiful, the food fantastic and Terry exceptionally helpful.

Our overseas guests were particulally impressed with the hotel rooms and service.

The garden and deck where we had the service were perfect and the heating (the day was cold) was great for those in short sleeves!

Couldn't have had a more perfect day.

Room Tip: Try the new rooms next door to the main hotel - they are supurb. All rooms are quiet despite the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlintrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Did not what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised - particularly in the view of the name of the Hotel ! - by the whole package. We knew it was in the city centre but it was not very noisy and the rooms were interestingly decorated and well furnished. Food was excellent and the owner had stamped his personality on the premises. Probably one of the best establishments we have stayed at on North Island! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here and enjoyed a good meal in the restaurant with others and could continue our dining experience to very late. Best part was only had to walk up the stairs to bed. Serves a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FDS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed here two nights on our trip in New Zealand. When we arrived, we were briefly greeted by a staff coming out of the kitchen, who gave us the key, told us where the room was and disappeared again.

We had a very spacious and very comfortable room. The only point of improvement was that the noisy fridge would better have been placed in the living, rather than in the bedroom. We had free internet access both wireless and wired.

The hotel is located at a major road in town, making that even at night (we stayed in a weekend) there is a considerable amount of noise coming from the street.


The owner was out of town and we were served breakfast by his son. Twice burned to black on the underside. The son did not care my remarks about this. Some of the food had been on the table the whole night (we had to wake the son, that's how we know)

The restaurant for dinner was actually a very good place to eat. The staff was friendly and helpfull.

So we have mixed feelings aobut this one. Great place to stay, but the hotel has accommodation for the night without the extra services that one should expect from thiis kind of place. Things might have been different with the owner present, but that's a guess.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I was in New Plymouth on business and did not pay for this b&B so can't comment on the price but New Plymouth is a sweet town and coming to home and waking up at the Nice Hotel has the qualities of coming home. The food is good, the rooms quirky and interesting and library full of books that are worth browsing. It is across from a lovely church with wonderful old trees. New Plymouth is a walking city with good museums. I loved coming home to the Nice Hotel and had a room with a tiny but lovely porch. Terri is your instant knowledgeable pal. My husband played golf that Terri arranged and that worked very well indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Hotel & Bistro

Address: 71 Brougham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range: £126 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nice Hotel & Bistro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant offering sophisticated comfort and award-winning dining in the heart of New Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nice Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing