We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding in new plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Denman, Australia
1 review
“wedding in new plymouth”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

From the moment craig an I arrived, we felt very welcome and at home, great suite, staff and
Terry where so accommodating, we met really lovely people and hope to return when we can.

The restaurant was casual but beautiful food made you feel like you were at home with a great team in the kitchen. we had the best five days in a long time. Craig and Sue Anderson Hunter Valley Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    21
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
52
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We recently had three nights in the Brooklands Suite in the Best Suites at the Nice Hotel. What a wonderful treat! The owner and staff made us feel welcome as though we were part of the Nice Hotel family and the atmosphere is relaxed and home-like. I loved the lack of a formal reception area, the feeling that I had arrived home to a wonderfully and thoughtfully appointed room (the tin of Nice Biscuits was a great touch, for example), and every need was catered for with a smile. And then there was the room - heavenly bed, beautifully decorated in a very artistic, distinctive and individual way, spa tub, parking just outside the front door, and our own garden courtyard adjoining the main hotel and restaurant. And don't miss the restaurant - we had a world class meal that you certainly wouldn't expect from a provincial town. We'll be back for a relaxing get-away weekend soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent a thoroughly relaxing couple of nights at the Nice Hotel, and it was an excellent spot in the centre of New Plymouth. The rooms are individual and quirky but beautifully furnished, the walls are covered in an eclectic selection of New Zealand artworks, and all the staff seem to actually enjoy working there.

There are a couple of gotchas - the road outside can be noisy, particularly once New Plymouth's boy racer fraternity get going on a Saturday night, and booking over the Internet can be spotty; it's much better to call and confirm by phone.

But the beds are excellent, the decor is about as far from a standard corporate hotel as you can get, and the place has all the charm of being invited to stay at a rich Uncle's place. Oh, and the outside courtyard (complete with decommissioned parking meter in the garden) is a delight when the sun is shining.

If you're after the full-fat depersonalised corporate hotel, this is the wrong place to stay. But if your idea of a great Sunday breakfast is to chat with the staff while they concoct whatever you feel like (without the constraints of a menu), or like the idea of a quiet snifter of brandy before bed in a tiny but perfectly-formed library - and you can just help yourself to the brandy - then this is the business. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can be a bit noisy, but all are wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Nice Hotel for our wedding venue. We wanted an intimate venue as we only wanted a small and personal wedding and as we have both been married before we didn't want a venue we had to set up and return the next day to clean up. The venue was everything we wanted and more. The food was amazing and Terry was a fantastic host, along with his fantastic and accommodating staff. We stayed the night in the suite which was pure luxury. There was nothing that hadnt been thought of - there was even a selection of DVDs in which to choose some soothing music. Although not the cheapest venue, we are firm believers that you get what you pay for. If you are looking for an intimate venue with great food and luxury for good measure then the Nice Hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

All I can say is thankfully we stayed the night using a Grab One Voucher, if me and my husband would have paid the full price the review would be worse. Trying to find the parking area was confusing enough, so we parked elsewhere, not real reception area and when shown to our 'superior room' I thought they'd been mistaken, all cheaply done to be made to look oldy worldly....it was nice enough and the bed was super comfy, the staff were friendly and we ate at the Restaurant which is part of the hotel which was very yummy....think there's just a few lil improvements that need doiong to make it more luxurious to pay the price they want

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelface44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I booked me and my partner in the hotel (plushiest room) for the night of our wedding early in the year (with late checkout). I booked us and our bridal party members the night before in the best suites later on. i confirmed both twice and even got an email for the first (still got booking details on my gmail). but when we showed up we were told that there was no room in the hotel for the next night (night of wedding for the 2 of us) which was very disapointiing. They booked another couple in there obviously as there was another wedding on. this wasnt great so on the night of the wedding, we shuffled our friends around in the suites so we could have one to our own night of the wedding. It also meant that one of our friends who was meant to have one of our old rooms (friend who travelled long distance with a baby) had no room when we promised her a room. she ended up in staying some crap service room owned by people and we were charged half for that room (yes for their mistakes). But to add to it on the day of the wedding when we had the makeup artist and hair stylist and everyone was getting ready (obvious) the acting manager banged on our door (the actual owner was away for weekend) and told us we needed to “you need to get OUT NOW” that was his exact words to us with no words before that. He said he wanted us out for housekeeping. umm, we couldnt? So rude. Need I mention this is luxury suites? Its so plush but they epically fail on the details (which is what you expect for plush boutique place ie customer service). Need I mention no one answered the door when bridal party members rocked up to their accomodation so they came back later and a guest lucky answered the door for one of them and let them in. and the dets like things being broken (a bridal parties shower and their alarm going off every so often, and no one answering at desk. and I believe her because when we stayed in the Hotel a month prior a broken fridge annoyed us for much of the night til we figured out where the noise was coming from and turned it off. We did tell them about it the morning after, I wonder if anything been done about it?). So disappointing.

Next day we packed our stuff into one of the suites as we had a bridal brunch and when we came back we were yelled out for not packing out of there even though we had had a hotel room with late checkout (but because they gave away this room it was somehow our fault for not being out of there, even though we talked to them about staying on later even after their mistake) . Kinda not cool on your wedding as this place does weddings themselves youd think they would know how to talk to people better and relate. was kind of very embarrassed for them and their lack of etiquette. Also they dont really top up your stuff even when room service comes around anyway (!) and some things were just taken away from us (robes etc).

The only good things about this place is it looked amazing and they have the best food (yes we had room service for lunch on the day and it was so yum). And my prior trip to the restaurant (around my bday) put NP on the culinary map for me again. very yummy. id recommend for great food but not for accomodation. expensive but doesnt reflect this in the terrible service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel and was very impressed. Beautiful styling and decor with a real boutique feel to it. Location is amazing right in the centre of town and the complimentary bikes were great to use to check out the coastal walkway. Room was quirky and comfortable with a double spa bath, sofa area and comfy bed. There was a lovely little library nook which was gorgeous. Complimentary sherry and port were a lovely touch. We relaxed in there listening to music both evenings. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant Table which was superb. Known as one of New Plymouth's best restaurants, it is fabulous. Great ambience, friendly staff and delicious food with a decent wine list. All in all, a real hidden gem in Taranaki and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
3.2 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Hotel & Bistro

Property: Nice Hotel & Bistro
Address: 71 Brougham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nice Hotel & Bistro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant offering sophisticated comfort and award-winning dining in the heart of New Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nice Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing