We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The thee C's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nice Hotel & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nice Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The thee C's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

3 C's: Comfortable, Convenient, Cwerky. A small and refurbished old hotel with contemporary pleasant accommodation. And the most comfortable beds compared to commercial hotels, great. The affable host and his lovely and capable and friendly staff. The attached restaurant is one of the most popular dining establishments in town. I like the best of the old and the new, and the real personal service. Recommended

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    19
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
48
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Nice Hotel in New Plymouth and each time I stay I am just as impressed. Each room has been given it's own name, not a number, as well as a personal homely touch, which makes it more relaxing that a corporate hotel facility. The King sized beds, huge spa baths, and fluffy white robes make a stay here extra special. Although I am yet to try it, there is a cosy study with a complimentary night cap on hand. The food is amazing, whether you have it in the restaurant or as room service, and the menu changes enough to keep you tempted from eating elsewhere. The staff are exceptional and offer the highest standard of service I have received while staying in the New Plymouth region. I would highly recommend staying here for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This gorgeous boutique hotel is without doubt the best accommodation New Plymouth has on offer. Centrally located within minutes of the coastal walkway it is a delightful place to spend a few nights. We have stayed here,on three occasions enjoying the beautifully decorated themed rooms and the warm hospitality of the owner Terry. The Table restaurant is wonderful with an excellent menu and wine list. We found ourselves there each night sampling the delights on offer and enjoying drinks in the the deck. What a wonderful, romantic place to be - love it!

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are themed. We like to try a different one each time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The titles of this property - Nice Hotel, Best Suites and Table ( the restaurant) - may have been coined tongue in cheek but the reality is something to experience. The quality of the rooms and the guest amenities, the staff and the food in Table all made us want to stay longer - and we did indeed add a second night. This boutique property is but 5 mins walk to the New Plymouth CBD and the seafront and close to the parks and historic cathedral. The owner and Manager, Terry, is mine host personified and quite a character to boot. A real gem of a place !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MedlandWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

A massive thank you to you and your staff for all you did to make Hamish and Sunita’s wedding day such a resounding success.

All our guests commented on the magnificent venue, the exquisite food and the courteous & highly professional staff. Thanks for your suggestions and guidance over the past 5 months of planning and all your efforts on the wedding day. Thanks to you, it was a remarkable 3 days and will live on in our memories forever.

Kind gestures like your constant supply of coffee, sandwiches, refreshments and restaurant space during preparation time touched our hearts and were so appreciated.

Terry, your hotel/restaurant is like no other. You have created an absolute masterpiece and infused it with warmth and elegance. We will be back for more stays and in the meantime I will recommend Table and Nice Hotel as the ultimate wedding venue to anyone who cares to listen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We visited this restaurant and loved our evening. Meeting the owner casualy over a wine, eating excellent food and the service and athmosphere it was a great evening. The hotel decor is excellent and we had a chance of visiting the rooms which are great. The place we will stay on next visit for decor, style and ambience.
Looking forward to it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denman, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

From the moment craig an I arrived, we felt very welcome and at home, great suite, staff and
Terry where so accommodating, we met really lovely people and hope to return when we can.

The restaurant was casual but beautiful food made you feel like you were at home with a great team in the kitchen. we had the best five days in a long time. Craig and Sue Anderson Hunter Valley Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Hotel & Bistro

Property: Nice Hotel & Bistro
Address: 71 Brougham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nice Hotel & Bistro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant offering sophisticated comfort and award-winning dining in the heart of New Plymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nice Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Hotel New Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing