We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dumpy and fraying everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Dumpy and fraying everywhere”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our travel agent had booked us into a "run of the house" room (#230) in this dumpy, frumpy chain hotel, probably because we had wanted to see Mount Egmont National Park and this was the closest location for lodging. The whole place is weird: the layout of the hotel (various halls and stairs) as well as the room. The room was VERY dark, with a strange triangular shaped window at the upper right edge of a high ceiling. I could not tell which direction we were facing, but it was not noisy, at least. There was a very small closet with iron and ironing board, a suitcase bench, a stocked fridge with TV, a very small table and chair, and a frumpy double bed on dark "carpet." The small bathroom had, of all things, a hot tub/shower combination. Again, curiously, the amenities included a shoe mitt (the first in all of NZ), tissues, soap, shampoo, and a sewing kit. The hot tub made strange, gurgling noises after we used the shower, probably for some sort of cleaning purpose. The room did not smell, but it was certainly not inviting at all. It was so dark!
The hotel is within easy walking distance to "downtown" New Plymouth, which did not seem to have too much to offer other than a splendid path along the seaside, a "wind wand," a few bars and restaurants. There seemed to be other, perhaps better hotels nearer to the sea than the Copthorne.
The clerk let us have an internet username and password, which otherwise would have been $15 NZD. Parking was included.
The included breakfast the next morning was in the hotel's ground floor restaurant, with a mediocre "buffet" and cooked to order, acceptable but not generous hot breakfast. We had eggs and bacon with toast.
Based on our experience, this hotel would be a 1.5-2-star in Europe.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you see the volcanoes in Tongariro, there is no point in going to Egmont. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
The hotel has brand new carpets and a good range of amenties in the bathrooms for guests to enjoy. Our large spa baths do have a self cleaning function.
Our hotel is located in the heart of the CBD and is in easy walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, walk way, parks etc. Glad you enjoyed access to free parking at the Hotel.
Our Breakfast are cooked to order on most occassions to ensure guests are getting fresh, hot breakfast each time and the guest is able to choose from a range of options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    80
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
21
72
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Friendly welcome, rooms are decent size but no view at all. Hotel is in CBD so ideally located but no warmth. Feels more like a business hotel than holiday hotel. Clean and tidy but better options out there for the money that offer something a little bit more interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
We are centrally located and cater for the business sector as we are in the heart of the
CBD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Located in the middle of the CBD, close to everything. The hotel is old and average. It is spread out and rambling. Rooms are very big but have no soul and are tired. Food for room service was ok. Better hotels in New Plymouth include The Water front and Quest.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Our hotel is in the heart of the CBD and is a couple of minutes walk from the foreshore. New Plymouth hosts an excellent range of accommodation and visitors have a good choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel is located very central for all the shops and sea front. We asked to be moved from our first room as the hand basin in the bathroom didnt hold the water , despite the plug being fitted- the fan didnt work in the bathroom and it was impossible to fill the spa bath from the taps( - only the shower fixture worked. ) Our request was immediately acted upon and we were requested to vacate our room and bring our belongings down to reception - which we did - only to be allocated a room a few doors away from where we originally were . It would have been simpler just to take our belongings along the corridor. However , even with taking into account the above we did enjoy our stay and would probably stay there again in the future .

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front if possible as there's traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do have large spa baths that take a little while to fill like any huge bath but well worth the wait.
Our usual policy is to room move on the same floor where possible and for guest to move directly from one room to the next. My apologies this did not occur on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed in the executive suite. The room was clean, tidy and a good size. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The only down side to this hotel was that breakfast finished at 10 which come round quickly on a Saturday when you are away for a night with no kids! However you are right in town so easy access to other restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liddy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here about 9 years ago and it still looks similar. Hasn't really dated in terms of facilities and decor. Staff friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the restaurant but every aspect of my stay was satisfactory. Nice bonus with the spa bath and was impressed with the range of complimentary products in the bathroom. Noise wasnt to loud and I had a good nights sleep with no disruptions.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taupopoki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to New Plymouth. We booked a family room. Plenty of space for kids, as this had a queen bed in one bedroom and a king with a single in the next. Good sized bathroom and lounge. Full kitchen which was a surprise as it wasn't mentioned on the site I booked from. Stayed 2 nights, checked out Xmas day. Good pricing compared to other local hotels n even motels. 2 receptionists were very helpful. Had dinner, ordered room service from the Gdk restuarant, I had the chicken n hubby had lamb shank (double), food was lovely, the meals were huge! Only drawback was no view of anything except parking lot! But I guess it's not a biggie since parking was free ESP at such a central location. Looked like someone scratched my car, must have been the van next to it, horrible since it is new. Anyways no fault of hotel, would recommend n difenitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aartika n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Address: 42 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Central Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated for conferences, special events and holidays, right in the heart of New Plymouth City only 10 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from magnificent Mt Taranaki and Egmont National Park. This welcoming New Plymouth Hotel is also within strolling distance of the CBD, the main shopping centre, TSB Showplace events centre, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing