We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality show when thing don't go right.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality show when thing don't go right.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice room warm and quiet - But my reason for writing this is that things did not go right.
Was their on business needed an internet connection - had trouble connecting to the hotels network - the help that I receive from the staff, form the young man at reception to the new manager was brilliant. They did everything in their power to sort it for me and offer multiple solutions when it turned out that after 4 hours of work their hardware supplier could not fix it.

So full credit to them as it isn't until things do not go right that you find out what a business is like to deal with.

Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinCarberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    81
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
22
71
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Anzac weekend this year - it was very quiet in New Plymouth, and the hotel was no exception! We asked for a twin room with a double and single, and to our delight discovered the single was in its own little bedroom off the main room. The room was very spacious and clean, and had all the amenities we needed. One nice touch was a makeup face cloth which was dark blue - very clever. We did not use the hotel restaurant as it was closed on Anzac Day. The only thing we would have found helpful was being offered a map of the city on check in - otherwise we had a lovely stay. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin room with a double and single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenp108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ideally positioned for exploring New Plymouth town centre and nearby parklands. Hotel parking was available off street and the hotel easy to find on arrival in New Plymouth.
Staff are welcoming and knowledgeable about nearby attractions.
Accommodation was good, comfortable bed, clean linen and towels and quiet.
Breakfast was good, we ate in once with the voucher we received on booking, but there are plenty of good and perhaps better places to eat only a short walk away. We would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a very odd shaped hotel the reception is the size of a double closet and then one has to walk down the stairs around corners until one finds the "dining room/bar" which it happened is on the ground level of a street. Generally I would say that the hotel was in a good location as we were able to navigate to and from it with reasonable ease. I did enjoy the free wifi here. It was one of the few places in New Zealand where wifi wasn't an issue - either in term of price or reception. The room was just adequate - tables etc to put your things were limited which became an issue for us. Staff was helpful with info about town etc. The tightness of table/dresser space resulted in us leaving a north American adapter to and electronic device in the hotel room - we just didn't see it amongst all the clutter. This was a live and death item. When we notice (in Wellington) that we had left it behind, we contacted the hotel, specifically Lucas, who was on duty when we called. He was outstanding in assisting us to get that adapter to Wellington. We can never thank Lucas enough and that fact makes all others about this hotel pale in importance.

Room Tip: Service for us was beyond Superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
As the only major hotel right in the CBD we are centrally located to all the city sights. We recognize that WiFi accessibility is key to a great stay for our guests and glad that you enjoyed this service. It is great that Lucas was able to assist you in getting your charger returned and I thank you for the kind words about him. He is certainly as asset to our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My commentary is based on one night's stay so could be limited in view. The room was fine - pretty clean - though it had some dandy lion seed heads floating about. Room service dinner was great and very tasty.
My stay here would have been okay had I not ordered breakfast. Alas I did and it came early whilst i was in the shower, some of it was incorrect, and some of it was incinerated. I did complain and got a nice response from the manager but it was too late.... kicked the day off on the wrong foot:(
THere is a place to park one's car and it is free - it feels a little unsafe though. Perhaps some security lights and more effort to make it look secure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you so much for your fair review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and evening meal in spite of the room service breakfast. I do apologise again for the inconvenience and disappointment caused by this incident. I am confident that this was an isolated incident and not our usual high standard of service.
Thank you for your suggestion of more lighting in our car park, I will certainly be looking into this as a priority.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and restore your faith in our breakfast service.
Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We found this hotel on a mystery deal offer. Located in a nice area. Service staff were lovely. Rooms were clean and well presented. Spa bath was an added bonus. Great toiletries and mini bar fridge was well priced. Free wifi was a major plus for us as overseas travellers! Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Jordan L,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your mystery weekend away in New Plymouth. We are conveniently located to many of the city's amenities and activities with helpful staff to assist. Our rooms have recently been upgraded with new bedding and the spa baths are an added bonus. As an international hotel we think it is important to offer free wi-fi and car parking to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed her in mid January and had the best ever trip to see family in New Plymouth. The bed gave us the longest ever lie in in our lives, the spa bath was lovely and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Lara was brilliant and really helped us look after our kid, getting a high chair and sorting us out. The cappucino cheesecake was divine. A great city stay.Everything close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResmanagerGCH, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad your family enjoyed there trip to New Plymouth and your stay with us. I really appreciate your kind words and will be sure to share them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Angela Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
1.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth

Property: Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Address: 42 Powderham Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand (Formerly Grand Central Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated for conferences, special events and holidays, right in the heart of New Plymouth City only 10 minutes from the airport and 25 minutes from magnificent Mt Taranaki and Egmont National Park. This welcoming New Plymouth Hotel is also within strolling distance of the CBD, the main shopping centre, TSB Showplace events centre, restaurants, bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing